Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

Child Seat Safety Laws in All States

Child Seat Safety Laws in All States

According to the American Association of Pediatrics (AAP), children under the age of 13 should always ride in the backseat of the car, in a car safety seat appropriate for their height, weight, and age.

There are currently three different general categories of child safety seats:

  • Rear-facing child safety seats. These seats are designed for use from newborns up to a maximum weight designated on the seat, typically from 22 to 45 pounds. They can be for vehicle-only use or they may be part of a stroller system that secures into a vehicle-mounted base.
  • Front-facing child safety seats. Front-facing seats are for children that have outgrown the requirements for their rear-facing seat. There are a wide range of weight allowances depending on the style and manufacturer. Generally, children should use a front-facing child safety seat until at least 4 years of age.
  • Booster seats. For children who have outgrown a front-facing child safety seat, a booster seat is recommended until they’ve grown to 4 feet 9 inches in height and between 8 and 12 years of age.

Knowing where the child safety seat should be installed is another important part of the puzzle. It is widely recommended that children should always be safely buckled into the backseat in their child safety seat. However, what is the best location for the child seat to be installed?

Child seat placement requirements may be different depending on the state where you are traveling. Here are state-specific recommendations for the where a child safety seat goes in a vehicle:

Aside from placement, choosing the right car seat and knowing the child seat safety laws in your state are important to know. Bookmark this page and refer to it when you are traveling to a different state and when your child has graduated to another type of child seat.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.


Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.


More related articles

How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P2159 OBD-II Trouble Code: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2159 P2159 code definition Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance Related Trouble Codes: P2158: Vehicle Speed Sensor B P2160: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Circuit Low P2161:...

Related questions

Q: How do I activate the childproof locks?

As a parent, it’s important that you keep your kids safe while you’re on the road. One important way to do that is to activate the childproof door locks. They’re located on the back doors only in your car, and...

Q: Which type of booster seat should I use?

There are two primary styles of booster seat on the market, although you’ll find plenty of different manufacturers. The two types are backless and high-backed. The type of seat you need for your child depends on a couple of different...

Q: What precautions should I follow for child safety?

Protecting children in your car is essential, and it’s surprisingly easy to get it wrong. Here are some important tips to help you safeguard that precious cargo: Children should be in the back seat unless they are 13 years...