Pre-Purchase Car Inspection

Don't buy a lemon! Our certified mechanics will go to the seller's location to inspect the used car! Average cost: $90 - $105

Sample 150 Point Inspection Report for 2006 Audi A3 L4-2.0L Turbo from our certified mechanic

YourMechanic Score
75
Similar cars have an average score of 85
DASH
POOR
TIRES
VERY GOOD
FLUIDS
VERY GOOD
BRAKES
POOR
ENGINE
VERY GOOD
OTHER
VERY GOOD

Photos

Exterior/Interior (12/11/2013 11:08AM)
Exterior/Interior (12/11/2013 11:08AM)
Exterior/Interior (12/11/2013 11:08AM)
Exterior/Interior (12/11/2013 11:08AM)
Exterior/Interior (12/11/2013 11:09AM)
Exterior/Interior (12/11/2013 11:09AM)
Dashboard (12/11/2013 11:09AM)
License Plate (12/11/2013 11:09AM)

Voice Notes

Reason for Visit (12/11/2013 11:10AM)
Services Provided (12/11/2013 12:17PM)
Problems Found and Recommendations (12/11/2013 12:17PM)

Dash

Dash Lights STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Check Engine Codes (DTCs)
P1579|P/N To D/R At High Throttle Angle - Power Reduction Mode On||P0221|Throttle/Pedal Position Sensor/Switch "B" Circuit Range/Performance||P0011|"A" Camshaft Position - Timing Over-Advanced or System Performance
Warning Lights
ABS, Check Engine

Tires

Tire Pressure Measurement STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Driver Side Front
32 psi
Passenger Side Front
32 psi
Driver Side Rear
32 psi
Passenger Side Rear
32 psi

Fluids

Engine Oil STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Level
Normal
Condition
Yellow
Brake Fluid STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Level
Low
Condition
Yellow
Coolant STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Level
Normal
Condition
New
Power Steering Fluid STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Level
Low
Condition
Normal
Washer Fluid STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Condition
Normal

Brakes

Pads STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Driver Side Front
20% (< 3mm)
Passenger Side Front
20% (< 3mm)
Driver Side Rear
20% (< 3mm)
Passenger Side Rear
20% (< 3mm)
Rotors STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Driver Side Front
Below Specs
Passenger Side Front
Below Specs
Driver Side Rear
Below Specs
Passenger Side Rear
Below Specs

Engine

Cooling System STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
All Cooling System Components
OK
Belts STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
All Belts
OK
Air Filter STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Air Filter
Need Replacement
Ignition Components STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Ignition Components
OK
Engine Oil Leaks STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Engine Components
No Leak

Other

Battery STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Corrosion
None
Case Leaking
No Leak
Cabin Air Filter STATUS NOTES & ADVICE FROM MECHANIC
Cabin Air Filter
Not Accessible
Recommended Services
Based on the inspection report, the following services are recommended for this vehicle.
  1. Brake Pads Replacement
  2. Axle / CV Shaft Assembly Replacement
  3. Other Inspections
  4. Air Filter Replacement
  5. Cabin Air Filter Replacement
Labor
  • Brake Rotor/Disc - Front
  • Brake Pads - Front
  • Check Brakes
  • Check Brake, Steering and Suspension System
  • Axle / CV Shaft Assembly - Driver Side Front
  • Other Inspections
  • Air Filter
  • Cabin Air Filter
Labor Total
$277.50
Parts
  • Brake Rotor - Rear
    $33.58
  • Axle / CV Shaft Assembly - Driver Side Front
    $179.90
  • Cabin Air Filter
    $23.38
  • Air Filter
    $23.98
  • Brake Cleaner
    $4.78
  • Brake Pad Set - Front
    $84.02
  • Brake Pad Set - Rear
    $57.92
  • Automatic Transmission Fluid - 1L
    $20.38
  • Brake Rotor - Front
    $69.58
Tax
$54.76
Parts Total
$625.84
Estimated Total
$958.10

Previously inspected cars

95
2000 Toyota Corolla L4-1.8L

Inspected in Burtonsville, Maryland on 2016-01-15.

MORE
90
2002 Saturn SL2 L4-1.9L

Inspected in Pflugerville, Texas on 2016-01-14.

MORE
94
2007 Dodge Grand Caravan V6-3.3L

Inspected in Escondido, California on 2016-01-14.

MORE

Meet some of our mechanics

Whitney

Years of experience:

34

# of Reviews:

812


Whitney is an ASE certified master technician. He has been a mobile mechanic for 20 years and loves working with people.


Robert

Years of experience:

26

# of Reviews:

326


A BMW, Nissan & Toyota certified mechanic with over 30 years of experience. Robert loves to work on all types of cars.


Grzegorz

Years of experience:

36

# of Reviews:

246


Grzegorz grew up in Poland. He has an extensive training in European cars. He is also a diagnostic pro.


Used car buying advice from our top rated mechanics

1. Do your research

It is important to do proper research on the car you're considering. You'll have tons of options when it comes to buying a car, so arm yourself with as much information as possible before you make a big decision. Websites like CarBuyingTips.com are great repositories of car buying information. When you find a car that piques your interest, determine that there are no major potential problems with it. The National Highway Traffic safety Administration maintains a list of recalls and Technical Service Bulletins, which will tell you about issues with the car.

2. You found a car you like—what to do before meeting with the seller

You'll want to know if the car has been in any accidents, has failed smog checks, or had other past issues. Get the VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) from the seller, which you can use to learn about the car. CarFax is a good source of car history, taking data from insurance companies, shops, and other providers. Also be sure you know your budget, as well as the fair price and full cost of ownership of the car. Use Edmunds.com as a solid resource for determining the average cost of ownership of a car. We also recommend getting an insurance quote as well as pricing on registration fees and estimated yearly maintenance costs so you don't later discover any surprises.

3. When you meet the seller

Always, always, always test drive the car. Ask a lot of questions about the car including why the owner is selling it, and whether they have any service records showing regular maintenance. Do a visual inspection of the car's exterior and interior to see that it is in an acceptable condition, and check for signs of accidents or damage.

During the test drive, listen for any strange noises coming from the car during acceleration or braking. Be sure to take the car out on a freeway to ensure it operates properly at high speeds. Test the brakes several times during the drive, braking both hard and normally to determine their responsiveness. Check the dashboard for any warning lights and make sure all the various controls (wipers, blinkers, radio, etc.) and the air conditioning system work.

4. The vehicle passed your inspection—now have a professional look it over

If you like the car and it is in good condition, negotiate the price subject to the inspection of a professional mechanic. At this point you can enlist a professional mechanic to give his/her diagnosis of the condition of the car. The mechanic's inspection will cover the fluids, brakes, electrical systems, cooling system, suspension, engine/exhaust, HVAC, tires, and body. The mechanic will scan the car's various computers for trouble codes and test drive the vehicle. Should the mechanic discover any problems, he can estimate repair costs and you can use these for further negotiations with the seller. This way you can have complete peace of mind about the car you are buying.

Commonly overlooked issues when buying a used car

1. Smog check

The seller of the car is required to get the car smogged before selling it. The car must pass the smog within 90 days of the intended sale date. This is the responsibility of the seller, so make sure you get a smog certificate or you may be in for a surprise when registering the car.

2. Keys, locks, remote controls, and other accessories

Make sure the seller is providing you with all necessary keys, key fobs, and remotes that go with the vehicle. For instance, if the car has wheel locks, make sure the seller provides you with the proper wheel lock key/socket. Also make sure the car comes with the owner’s manual, any extended warranty documents and service records, as well as a spare tire, and jack, and tools (this one often goes unnoticed).

3. Verify that the pink slip gives you clear title

Make sure that there are no liens against the car—in other words, no bank or other party still holds an interest in the vehicle. On the pink slip you will see the owner’s name and any lien holders listed. “Lien holders” should either be blank or any holders will have signed off as “lien-satisfied.” Essentially, make sure all owners have signed off on the car before going through with a purchase.

4. Salvage title

A vehicle pink slip may list a vehicle as having a salvage title. What this means is that at one time in the car's life, an insurance company recorded this vehicle as totalled, indicating that the car has been in a major accident with repair costs higher than the vehicle’s value. Buyer beware, some of these salvage vehicles may have extensive problems, have voided warranties, and/or not be eligible for comprehensive auto insurance.

People say the nicest things



Kevin showed up ready to do his job and did just that. He showed me a couple important things on my vehicle I had overlooked and was nothing less than incredibly professional, knowledgeable, and informative. I would, without hesitation recommend him to anyone I know and would gladly use him again.



I have to say I am totally satisfied with the service performance and Bernard is quite professional offering details of the work which was completed. I will definitely utilize your service in the future and will recommend to family and friends.



Very impressed with the quality of work. Ned was on time and on budget. There were no surprise extra costs. Ned even helped me out with my other car, even though I didn't have an appointment for the other car. He took care of all of my car problems and he even found me a coupon for an oil change. I will be using this service again.


How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, from 6 AM to 5 PM PST.

1-800-701-6230 · hi@yourmechanic.com