$124.62 - $450.29
All states have laws regarding the safe transportation of children, and require the use of child safety seats in motor vehicles. The laws are there for your child’s protection, so it makes sense to learn them and obey them.
Summary of child seat safety laws in Kentucky
The child seat safety laws in Kentucky can be summarized as follows:
Children one year or under
Children one year or under and 20 pounds or under must use a rear-facing child seat.
Although not mandated by law, it is recommended that children use rear-facing child seats until they reach the age of two, and a weight of at least 20 pounds.
The use of a convertible child seat is also permitted, but must be used facing rear until the child is at least 20 pounds.
Children over one year
Children at least a year old and 20 pounds may occupy a front-facing seat with a harness.
It is recommended that if a front-facing seat is used, the child should be kept in this type of restraint until he or she is at least two years old, and weighs 20 pounds.
Children 40-80 pounds
- Children weighing between 40 and 80 pounds must use a booster seat in conjunction with a lap and shoulder belt, regardless of age.
Children age 8 or older
If a child is eight years old, or older, and more than 57 inches tall, the use of a booster seat is no longer required.
If you violate the child seat safety laws in Kentucky, you can be fined $20 for failure to use a child restraint system, and $50 if you fail to use a booster seat.
It just makes sense to protect your child by using a proper child restraint system so do it. You won’t have to worry about fines, and you can rest assured that your child will travel safely.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING