$124.62 - $450.29
In the state of New York, the law requires that children be restrained in a car seat when in a moving vehicle. This means that any child has to be in a child seat that is right for their age and weight. So beyond that, what are the laws?
New York child seat safety laws
New York child seat safety laws can be summarized as follows.
Kids in New York can sit in the front or back seat of the car, although it is recommended that they ride only in back.
Taxi drivers are not required to provide child seats.
Nope, buses aren’t required to provide child seats either.
If you are transporting children under the age of four in an RV, you must provide child car seats.
If you are in violation of the child seat safety laws in New York State, then you can be held liable. The driver of the vehicle is responsible for restraining passengers who are under the age of 16, and if the driver fails to do so, then he or she can be handed a fine of $25 at minimum, and up to a maximum of $200. The offense also results in three points being assessed to the driver’s license.
If you are driving in the state of New York, it just makes sense to obey the laws as they relate to child seat safety. If you don’t disobey the law, then you don’t have to worry about being fined or having points added onto your license. The laws in New York aren’t all that complex, and they’re easy to obey, so just do it. Get a child seat and use it. It’s just that easy to be compliant in the state of New York.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING