$123.64 - $445.92
When children are injured, or even killed, in motor vehicle accidents, it is often because the driver is in violation of the child seat safety laws for their state. In Texas, the child seat safety laws are based in common sense, and designed to prevent deaths and injuries to young children. It makes sense to learn them, and also to obey them.
Summary of Child Seat Safety Laws in Texas
In Texas, the child seat safety laws can be summarized as follows:
Anyone who transports a child under the age of five, and under three feet tall, and does not secure that child in a safety seat according to manufacturer instructions, is violating the law.
Children taller than 3 feet and older than 5 but under 17 can use the vehicle’s seat belt system.
If your child is under the age of 1 and weighs under 20 pounds, then use a rear-facing infant seat set at either a 45 degree angle, or at the angle that is specified by the manufacturer.
If your child is under the age of 1 and weighs under 30 pounds, you can use a rear-facing convertible car seat set at either a 45 degree angle, or at the angle that is specified by the manufacturer.
If your child is at least 1, and between 30 and 40 pounds, then use a harness-equipped booster seat. If the child is over 40 pounds, and under 57 inches, remove the harness straps and use the vehicle’s safety belt system.
If your child is over 57 inches, then he or she must use the vehicle’s lap and shoulder belt system.
If you fail to obey the child seat safety laws in Texas, you can be fined a minimum of $25. There is no set maximum fine.
Make sure that your child is properly restrained in accordance with the laws of the state of Texas.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING