Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Register a Car in Texas

registration texas

There are a number of benefits that come with moving to Texas. When you first arrive in the Lonestar state, you will need to take the time to ensure that you are on the right side of the law. Getting the car that you drive registered with the state of Texas should be at the top of your list of priorities. If you wait longer than 30 days to get your registration after you have moved into the state, then you will be at risk of having to pay a late fee. You will have to visit the Country Tax Office in order to get your vehicle registered. This is what you will have to bring with you to get this process handled:

  • Proof that you have valid car insurance
  • A certificate showing that the car has passed a safety inspection
  • A title with your name on it
  • A completed Application for Texas Certificate of Title
  • If you have a lien on the vehicle, you need to complete an Application for Registration Purposes only form
  • Payment for the registration fees

If you are a resident of Texas and have bought a new or used vehicle, you will also need to get it registered. Here are the things that you need to bring with you when trying to get this process handled:

  • A Texas issued driver’s license
  • A valid car insurance policy
  • An Application for Texas Certificate of Title
  • Have a Certification of Inspection form

When going in to get your car registered, here are the fees that you can look forward to paying:

  • Cars and light duty trucks will cost $50.75 to register
  • Vehicles that way over 6,001 will cost $54 to register
  • Motorcycles and mopeds will cost $30 to register

Every two years, a car will have to be inspected in order to get registered in the state of Texas. Some of the counties in Texas will also require an emissions test. If you need more information about this part of the registration, be sure to visit the Texas DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
Auto Safety Tips
Driving is more than a way to get from point A to point B. Owning and driving a car can also be a highly enjoyable experience. Whether a person is driving...


Related questions

Q: I had a shop from http://BMWmechanicBoca.Com tell me that I may need a battery registered for my BMW

Hello, thank you for writing in. Typically when you are prompted to register a new part or accessory, you are doing so for the warranty. This is a process of contacting the company and letting them know that you have...

Q: One of my running lights is out can I still pass Texas state inspection?

I have lived and worked in 3 states. Each state's safety inspection required all lights be functioning to pass. I'm fairly certain that is consistent across all 50 states. It's possible that the mechanic took it to a friend who...

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...