$124.62 - $450.29
In the State of Louisiana, everyone who transports children in motor vehicles is subject to certain laws, which are based in common sense, and designed to protect children. Failure to obey the laws can result in penalties, but that is not the only reason they should be obeyed. Children are not meant to be restrained in adult seat belts that will not fit them properly, so special regulations are in place for securing children.
Summary of Louisiana’s child seat safety laws
The child seat safety laws in Louisiana can be summarized as follows.
Children six or younger
Any child at or under the age of 6, and weighing no more than 60 pounds must be restrained in a child safety seat equipped with a safety belt.
Children age one or younger
- Any child who is less than 1 year old, or under 20 pounds, must be placed in a rear-facing safety seat.
Children ages one to four
- Any child who is between the ages of 1 and 4, and weighs between 20 and 40 pounds must be restrained in a front-facing child seat.
Children up to age six
- Any child 6 or older, and weighing more than 60 pounds, must be restrained in a booster seat according to the manufacturer’s instructions, or in the vehicle’s seat belt if it fits properly.
- Child seats are not required if the child is riding in an emergency vehicle.
If you are in violation of the Louisiana child seat safety laws, you can be fined $100. Child safety seat laws are in place for your protection, so you should obey them. If an accident occurs, then a fine is likely going to be the least of your worries. So for the safety of your children, follow Louisiana’s child seat safety laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING