Child Seat Safety Laws in Washington

Child Seat Safety Laws in Washington

Car crashes are the main cause of death for children up to the age of 12 all across the country, and many of those deaths can be attributed to improper use (or no use) of restraint systems. Washington State is no different.

The best way to make sure your children are safe is to make sure that they have the right car seat and that it is installed and used in compliance with the manufacturer’s instructions. You should also keep your child in the safety seat or restraint system for as long as possible, until they are too tall or heavy for the system.

Summary of Washington’s child seat safety laws

The child seat safety laws in the state of Washington can be summarized as follows:

  • Children under the age of 13 must ride in the back seat whenever possible.

  • Children under 8 must use a child safety restraint unless they are at least 57 inches tall.

  • Child restraints must be used according to the instructions of both the seat’s manufacturer and the manufacturer of the motor vehicle.

  • Booster seats must be used for children 8 and under and weighing more than 40 pounds, unless the vehicle is equipped only with lap belts. Booster seats have to be used with both lap and shoulder belts.

  • You must ensure that children who are age 8 or older, or who are at least 57 inches tall, are using the seat belt system in the vehicle correctly. If they are not, you will have to make them continue to use child restraints.

Penalties

If a child is not properly restrained in a motor vehicle, the driver will be fined $124. If the passenger is 16 or older, then the passenger is fined.

Choose the type of child restraint that is best for your child, and always use it correctly. It could save your child’s life.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!

More related articles

Symptoms of a Bad or Failing Flexible Clutch Hose
Common signs include difficulty shifting, low clutch fluid, and feeling no resistance at the clutch pedal.
How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oklahoma(DELETED)
Having your car registered with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is an important part of driving legally in this state. You will need to do this within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma...
P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...

Related questions

Q: What safety precautions should parents follow?

In addition to ensuring that children ride in the back, and that they’re correctly seated in a rear facing car seat, a front facing car seat, or booster seat as dictated by your state’s laws, you should also follow these...

Q: How do you use the Lower Anchors and Tethers for Children (LATCH) system?

Your Altima is equipped with the Lower Anchors and Tethers for Children (LATCH) system. It’s designed to help make securing car seats (and your kids) simpler, while adding another layer of safety. Here’s how to use the system. Locate...

Q: How do you use the top anchor point in the back?

Your Altima is equipped with several anchor points. They’re designed to work in conjunction with one another. The driver and passenger rear seats both have two anchor points located where the seat bottom and back meet, but there’s another anchor...