$124.62 - $450.29
In the State of Maryland, child seat safety laws work to make sure that your children are safe when travelling in your car. By following the laws, you can keep your child safe from injury or worse when you are on the road.
In Maryland, the child seat safety laws are predicated on height and age, and they apply not only to Maryland residents, but also to anyone who may be travelling in the state.
Summary of Maryland’s child seat safety laws
The child seat safety laws in Maryland can be summarized as follows.
Children under eight
Under the law, every child under age eight must ride in a car seat, booster seat or other federally approved safety device until he or she reaches the height of four feet and nine inches or more.
Children ages 8-16
If a child is between the ages of 8 and 16, and not secured in a child seat, then he or she must use the vehicle-equipped safety belts.
Front seat occupancy
Some states prohibit children from riding in the front seat unless they are in a rear-facing child seat. Maryland does not have this prohibition. That said, though, experts on child safety recommend that children under 13 years of age occupy the back seat of the vehicle.
If you violate the laws regarding child seat safety in Maryland, you will have to pay a fine of $50.
Of course, compliance with the law isn’t just important in that it helps you to avoid a fine – the laws are in place to keep your child safe. Seat belt laws are there for your protection as well, so make sure to drive safely, and ensure that your kids are properly restrained in accordance with the law.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING