$125.02 - $443.96
In New Mexico, there are laws governing child seat restraints, and requiring that every occupant of a vehicle must be properly restrained. This means adults and children alike. The laws in New Mexico are not all that strict when compared with the laws in other states, but of course they still have to be obeyed.
Summary of New Mexico child seat safety laws
So, in New Mexico, what exactly do the child seat safety laws mean? In New Mexico, it is very easy to obey the law, since the laws are very straight-forward. They can be summarized as follows:
Age and weight restrictions
Any child under one year of age must ride in a rear-facing child seat. If there is no back seat then a child under the age of one can ride in the front provided that the air bag is turned off.
Children one to four must always use a safety seat when riding in a motor vehicle.
Children under 40 pounds must use a safety seat when riding in a motor vehicle.
Children between the ages of five and six must use booster seats when riding in a motor vehicle.
Children 7-12 must be properly restrained using a booster seat or safety belt when being transported in a motor vehicle.
Children 13-17 must use adult safety belts.
If you violate the penalties regarding child seat safety laws in New Mexico, you are not just endangering your children. You could also be subject to penalties, including a fine of up to $125.
It just makes sense – don’t end up being subjected to fines, and endangering your children as well. Obey the laws in New Mexico as they relate to child seat safety. Keep your children safe, and obey the law.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING