$125.02 - $465.01
The law in Alaska requires everyone who is occupying a motor vehicle to wear a seat belt. Seat belt laws are founded in common sense, and in place to protect drivers and their passengers. Drivers have a special duty of care to young passengers, and are required to make sure that anyone up to the age of 16 is properly restrained in a vehicle.
Summary of Alaska’s child seat safety laws
The child seat safety laws in Alaska can be summarized as follows:
Passengers between the ages of 4 and 16 must wear either a seat belt or a federally-approved child restraining device.
No one under the age of 16 can be transported in a motor vehicle unless each child is properly secured.
Children who are under the age of 1 year, or who weigh under 20 pounds, must be placed in a rear-facing child seat that meets the United States Department of Transportation standards, and is installed according to the manufacturer’s specifications.
If a child is one or older, but under five, and weighs at least 20 pounds, then he or she must be placed in a child seat that meets the United States Department of Transportation standards, and is installed according to the manufacturer’s specifications.
If a child is over four, but under eight, and under 57 inches tall, and weighs at least 20 pounds but under 65 pounds, then he or she must be placed in a booster seat, or secured by a restraint system that meets the United States Department of Transportation standards and is installed according to the manufacturer’s specifications.
If a child is over the age of four, and 65 pounds or over, and 57 inches or taller, he or she may be secured using a seat belt.
A child over the age of eight, but under 16, who does not exceed the height and weight regulations stated above can be secured by a child safety device, or a seat belt.
If you violate the child seat safety laws in Alaska, you can be fined $50 and have 2 demerit points assigned to your driver license. Don’t risk your safety and that of your young passengers. Buckle up, and obey the child seat safety laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING