$125.02 - $465.01
In Alabama, laws are in place requiring that anyone occupying the front seat of a vehicle, regardless of age, must wear a seat belt. It is simple common sense that you should obey seat belt laws, since they are there for your protection. The law also works to protect people who are too young to exercise common sense by placing the responsibility on the driver. Accordingly, there are also laws governing how children are restrained in vehicles.
Summary of Alabama’s child seat safety laws
The child seat safety laws in Alabama can be summarized as follows:
The driver is responsible for ensuring that all passengers up to age 15 are properly restrained, whether they are occupying the front or back seat of any type of passenger vehicle that has a seating capacity of 10 persons or fewer.
Any infant 1 year or younger, or weighing 20 pounds or less, must be secured in a rear-facing child seat or a convertible child seat.
Children who are under the age of 5, and 40 pounds or under, must be secured in a forward-facing child seat or in a convertible child seat that is facing forward.
Booster seats are required until a child reaches the age of six. There are no exemptions in Alabama for children who are over a certain height and/or weight.
If you violate the Alabama child seat safety laws, you can be fined $25 and have demerit points assigned to your driver’s license.
Remember, proper use of seat belts and child seats is the most effective way of reducing the possibility for injury or even death, so buckle up, make sure you are using the proper child seat for your young passengers, and drive carefully.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING