$124.62 - $450.29
Each state is unique in its requirements for disabled drivers. The following are some of the qualifications you must have in the state of Alabama to receive a disabled driver license plate or placard.
Qualifications for disabled status
You may apply for a disabled driver permit if you have limited mobility due to having lost the ability to use one or more lower extremities, have lost the use of both hands, or have been diagnosed with a disease that impairs mobility. If you must carry an oxygen tank with you at all times, you may also be eligible for a disabled driver permit and/or license plate.
Obtaining a proper license plate or placard
You must apply for a placard or a license in person at a local Alabama DMV office.
In order to receive a placard or license plate, you need to complete the Application for Disability Access Parking Privileges form, which can be found on the Alabama DMV website.
In addition, you will need to provide confirmation of his or her condition from a licensed physician.
Cost of license plates and placards
Automobile licenses cost $23 each, motorcycles are $15 each, and placards are free.
Placards are issued only after the Alabama DMV reviews and approves your application, affirming that you meet the standards required to obtain disability status.
How long are permanent placards and license plates valid in Alabama
Permanent placards and license plates are valid for five years. After this time, you can renew your license or placard by completing the same form you filled out when initially applying for disability status.
Before five years, disabled drivers will receive each year a new placard in the mail.
How to renew your permit
Disabled drivers will need to renew after five years. To renew, you will need to fill out the document you completed when first applying and pay the required fee. Also, please note that the time you may renew is based on the first letter of your last name. Be sure to review the schedule so that you know which month you may renew.
Types of disability license plates and placards
Permanent placards are colored blue and are valid up to five years.
Temporary placards are colored red and are valid for no longer than six months.
Drivers with permanent disabilities receive one plate and one placard for each car you own.
If a driver has a permanent disability but does not receive a license plate, he or she may own two placards, which should be displayed on either the dashboard or hanging from the rearview mirror.
Drivers with temporary disabilities receive one placard.
How to display your handicap permit
Permits must be displayed in clear view for law enforcement officers to see. This includes hanging your placard from your rearview mirror or placing it on your dashboard.
Disability driver status for veterans
Veterans must provide three documents:
A completed Application for Disability Access Parking Privileges (Form MVR 32-6-230).
The applicant’s disability rating certification.
The applicant’s military or veteran ID card.
Replacing a disability parking permit in Alabama
You must complete the replacement section of the original form (Form MVR 32-6-230).
You must then submit this form in person to the local Alabama DMV.
Following these guidelines will help you determine whether you are eligible in Alabama for a Disabled Driver’s license plate and placard. For more information, reference the Alabama website for disabled drivers.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING