$124.88 - $443.82
Each state has its own special requirements for disabled drivers. Below are some of the qualifications you must have in the state of Alaska to obtain a disabled driver license plate and/or permit.
How do I know if I am eligible for a disabled driver permit and/or license plate?
You may apply for a disabled driver permit if you cannot walk 200 feet without stopping, have restricted movement due to having lost the ability to use one or more lower extremities, have lost the use of one or both arms, one or both hands, or use portable oxygen. If you have a Class III or Class IV cardiac condition, or experience arthritis so severe that inhibits your ability to walk, then you are also eligible for a disabled driver permit and/or license plate.
How do I obtain a license plate and/or permit?
You must apply for a permit or a license in person at a local Alaska DMV office.
In order to receive a permit or license plate, you need to bring the Special Disability Parking Permit (form 861) to a qualified health professional, and have them complete and sign the form. You can either submit the form in person at your local Alaska DMV, or by mail:
Division of Motor Vehicles
ATTN: Special Disability Parking Permit
1300 W. Benson Blvd., STE 200
Anchorage, AK 99503-3600
This information, including the parking permit form, is available online.
Cost of license plates and permits
Parking permits in Alaska are free. In order to receive disability plates, you must apply at your local Alaska DMV. Make sure to bring one of the following forms: If the vehicle is already in your name, you must complete a Vehicle Transaction Application (form 821) for a Special Plate Type. If the vehicle is new to you, you must complete an Application for Title and Registration (form 812) and write "Request special plates" in the section marked Affidavit.
Plates are issued only after the Alaska DMV reviews and approves your application, affirming that you meet the standards required to obtain disability status.
How to renew your permit
Disabled drivers will need to renew after five years. To renew, you will need to fill out the document you completed when first applying and pay the required fee. Also, please note that the time you may renew is based on the first letter of your last name. Be sure to review the schedule so that you know which month you may renew.
Types of disability plates
Drivers with permanent disabilities receive one plate and for each car you own. Any additional plate is $100 plus any motor vehicle registration fees.
How to display your handicap permit
Permits should be displayed in a way that allows law enforcement officers to see them. You may hang your permit from your rearview mirror or place it on your dashboard.
Length of permits
Temporary permits expire after six months, while permanent permits expire after five years.
Transferring license plates from one vehicle to another
Please note that in Alaska, if you are disabled and wish to transfer your license plate to another vehicle, that you will not be charged a fee. However, in order to transfer plates from one vehicle to another, both vehicles must be in your name.
Following these guidelines will help you determine whether you are eligible in Alaska for a Disabled Driver’s permit and license plate. For additional information, please visit the Alaska website for disabled drivers.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING