$124.62 - $450.29
Types of placards and plates
The State of West Virginia offers various parking permits for people with disabilities. They include:
- Permanent placards
- Permanent license plates
- Temporary placards
If you have a qualifying disability in the State of West Virginia, then you can apply for a special plate or placard. You can also apply if you operate a vehicle that transports people with disabilities on a day-to-day basis. You must complete a Parking Application for a Mobility Impaired Person.
If you are visiting West Virginia from another state, and you hold a disabled plate or placard in your home state, then West Virginia will give you the same rights and privileges as your home state.
If you have a disabled plate or placard, then you can use any handicapped space. Keep in mind, though:
You may not loan anyone your permit
Your placard must be hung from your rear-view mirror, or placed on the dash if you don’t have a rear-view mirror
When you are driving, you must remove your placard from your rear-view mirror
Your application must be verified by a doctor, chiropractor, physician’s assistant, or advanced nurse practitioner.
Fees apply only to license plates, and requests for plates must be accompanied by a fee of five dollars, submitted to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
Mobility Impaired Placards and Plates
P.O. Box 17010
Charleston, WV 25317
Disabled veteran plates
If you are a veteran, and you are 100% disabled due to your military service, you can obtain a special plate by completing the Application for a Disabled Veteran License Plate. You must have certification from the DVA in West Virginia.
All permits will expire. A permanent disability placard has to be renewed after five years, and a temporary placard after six months. License plates must be renewed along with your vehicle registration.
Lost or stolen placards
If your placard is lost, stolen, or damaged to the point where it can no longer be recognized, you must complete the appropriate paperwork again, but you will not have to provide medical certification.
If you are a person with a disability in the State of West Virginia, then you are entitled to certain rights and privileges under the law. These rights will not be automatically accorded to you, though – you have to apply for them, and fill out the appropriate paperwork as required by the State. Once you do so, you can enjoy the benefits of disabled driver laws in the State of West Virginia.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING