Cell Phones and Texting: Distracted Driving Laws in West Virginia

Texting while driving is illegal in West Virginia. Drivers are also banned from using handheld cell phones while operating a motor vehicle. Furthermore, drivers who are under the age of 18, have a permit, or an intermediate license are prohibited from using any type of wireless communication device. These bans includes:

  • Looking at images or data
  • Composing, reading, sending, browsing, accessing, transmitting, or reading email
  • Making a phone call

Laws

  • Drivers may not use handheld cell phones
  • No texting while driving
  • Drivers under 18, have a permit, or an intermediate license cannot use a wireless communication device

Exceptions

There are a few exceptions to these laws.

  • Paramedic, emergency medical technician, firefighter, or law enforcement officer using a vehicle in their official duties
  • Report a traffic accident, fire, road hazard
  • Activating or deactivating the hands free feature

The handheld cell phone law is a primary law. This means a law enforcement officer can pull a driver over for using a cell phone without having committing any other moving violation.

Fines and penalties

  • First offense is $100
  • Second offense is $200
  • Third offense is $300
  • On the third and subsequent convictions, there are three points added to the driver’s license

Texting and using handheld cell phones are illegal in West Virginia. It is a good idea for drivers to invest in a hands free device if they must make calls while going down the road


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

The Guide to Right-of-Way Laws in West Virginia
The The key to safe driving is based on common courtesy. But since not everyone is courteous, right-of-way rules are also codified in West Virginia. These laws are in place to keep you safe, and you need to know them....
How to Transfer a Car Title in West Virginia
As As in the rest of the country, the state of West Virginia requires that all changes of vehicle ownership are accompanied by a transfer of the title. This is necessary to ensure that the name of the owner appears...
The Guide to Distracted Driving Laws in All States
While While the safety features on vehicles have improved dramatically in recent years, the fact remains that cars are large, heavy items that travel at very fast speeds, and can thus be quite dangerous. Because of this, drivers should always...

Related questions

Rough idle, seems to misfire but never dies and no Check Engine Light.
This may be related to many things such as an ignition misfire, low fuel pressure or a dirty or failing idle air control valve (https://www.yourmechanic.com/services/idle-control-valve-replacement). The ignition misfire may also be caused by the low fuel pressure or idle control...
2011 Chevy Aveo has no spark at cylinders 2 and 3
The coils on your vehicle are all housed together in a carrier assembly. If two of the four coils aren't producing spark, there's a good chance the carrier is to blame. A professional, such as one from YourMechanic, can repair...
Vehicle shakes during acceleration
Among the remaining possibilities are defective motor mounts, struts, and engine operating condition (the engine needs to be looked at with a scope under load and a compression test might be helpful, too). If there is no problem with the...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com