$125.02 - $465.01
Oklahoma became the 46th State in the nation to ban texting and driving. The law went into effect on November 1, 2015. Oklahoma defines distracted driving as any time a driver’s full attention is not on the road, or on the task of driving.
Texting and driving is illegal for drivers of all ages and license levels. For drivers with a learner’s permit or an intermediate license, they are prohibited from using a handheld cell phone while driving.
- Drivers of all ages are banned from texting while driving
- Drivers with a learner’s permit cannot use a handheld cell phone while driving
- Drivers with an intermediate license cannot use a handheld cell phone while driving
- Drivers with a regular operator’s license are free to make phone calls from a handheld or hands free device while driving
A law enforcement officer cannot pull a driver over just for texting or driving, or for breaking a cell phone law. In order for the driver to be pulled over, the officer has to see the person operating the vehicle in a manner that poses to a danger to those around them, as this is considered a secondary law. In this case, the driver can be cited for texting while driving along with a citation for the initial reason the officer stopped them.
- A texting and driving fine is $100
- Not paying attention to the road is $100
- Drivers with a learner’s permit or intermediate license may lose their license if they use a handheld electronic device to text or talk while driving a vehicle
Oklahoma has a ban on texting and driving for those of all ages and license statuses. Distracted driving, texting, and cell phone usage is considered a secondary law in this state, but it does come with fines if you are pulled over. It is a good idea for the driver to put the cell phone away and concentrate on the surroundings when driving down the road for the safety of everyone inside the vehicle, and the safety of vehicles in the area.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING