$124.62 - $450.29
If you have a modified vehicle and either live in Oklahoma or plan to do so in the near future, you need to understand the laws that you have to follow in order to make sure your car or truck is considered street legal when driving on the roadways throughout the state. The following information will help you modify your vehicle so that it is street legal.
Sounds and noise
Oklahoma has laws in place that limit the amount of noise that can come from the sound systems and muffler on your modified car or truck.
The noise from your sound system cannot disturb the peace and quiet of neighborhoods, towns, villages or people by being unusually loud. Doing so can result in fines up to $100 and up to 20 days in jail.
Mufflers are required on all vehicles and must prevent unusual or excessive noise.
Muffler bypasses, cutouts, and amplifying devices are not permitted.
Mufflers cannot be modified so that they produce sound that is louder than what the original factory muffler produced.
Tip: Always check with local county laws in Oklahoma to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Oklahoma does not have any regulations on suspension lift height, frame height or bumper height. However, vehicles cannot be more than 12 feet 6 inches in height.
Oklahoma does not have any engine modification or swap regulations and the state does not require emissions testing.
Lighting and windows
Headlamps must emit white light.
Two spotlights are permitted but cannot be turned on within 1,000 feet of another vehicle.
Two fog lamps are permitted but can only be used in conditions of fog, rain, dust, and similar roadway conditions.
Two auxiliary driving lights are permitted.
Off-road lights are permitted but cannot be illuminated when on roadways.
Non-reflective tint is permitted on the top five inches or above the AS-1 line from the manufacturer – whichever comes first on the windshield.
Front side, back side, and rear windows must allow over 25% of light to pass through.
Reflective tint cannot reflect over 25% on front side and back side windows.
Side mirrors are required when rear window is tinted.
Antique/Classic Car Modifications
Oklahoma provides classic car plates for vehicles more than 25 years old. An Application for a Classic Vehicle License Plate is required. Vehicles cannot be used for daily driving, but can be driven on roadways for exhibition, parade, and educational events.
If you want to make sure your vehicle is modified properly under Oklahoma law, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING