Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Register a Car in Oklahoma

registration oklahoma

When moving to a new area, there are a variety of things that you will have to handle to comply with local laws. One of the first things that you need to do when moving to Oklahoma is to get your car registered. In order to get this process done, you will have to go to the Oklahoma Tax Commission. If you fail to get your car registered after 30 days of being a resident of the state, then you will be at risk of being fined. Before you go into the tax commission, you will have to go and get a valid car insurance policy. Once you have this policy in hand, here is what you will need to take with you:

  • A completed Application of Oklahoma Certificate of Title for a Vehicle
  • Proof that you own the car
  • Proof of valid car insurance
  • The lien documents if you are still paying on the car
  • An odometer disclosure form if the vehicle is less than nine years old

For Oklahoma residents that have bought a car from a dealership or a private seller, it will need to also be registered within 30 days of the purchase. Here is what you will need to bring with you when registering the vehicle in question:

  • The title or proof that it has been bought from the dealership
  • The insurance cards for the vehicle
  • The odometer reading for the vehicle
  • A completed Application of Oklahoma Certificate of Title for a Vehicle

There will be fees that have to be paid when registering your car for the first time. Here are the fees that you can expect to pay:

  • The title fee is $11
  • The registration fee is $91 for a motor vehicle and $94 for a motorcycle
  • There will be a title transfer fee if you have just purchased the vehicle of $17
  • The VIN inspection fee for out of state cars is $4
  • If the vehicle is being finances, there is a $10 processing fee

The only thing that you need to have before going to the Oklahoma Trade Commission is the copy of your insurance policy. If you are in need of further assistance, be sure to visit the Oklahoma DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

How Long Does a Vacuum Brake Booster Check Valve Last?
The braking system on your car requires a lot of pressure. The vacuum booster is one of the main sources of this pressure. This booster will take the pressure that...
How to Find the Keyless Code on a Ford Explorer or Mercury Mountaineer
Many Ford Explorers and Mercury Mountaineers were manufactured with an option known as the Ford keyless entry keypad. Some models refer to it as SecuriCode as well. It...
P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...


Related questions

Q: I had a shop from http://BMWmechanicBoca.Com tell me that I may need a battery registered for my BMW

Hello, thank you for writing in. Typically when you are prompted to register a new part or accessory, you are doing so for the warranty. This is a process of contacting the company and letting them know that you have...

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...