There are a variety of things that you will have to do to get your car road ready when moving to the state of Tennessee. In order to make sure you are in compliance with all of their car laws, the state of Tennessee requires you to register your vehicle with the Department of Revenue. You will need to do this no later than 30 days after moving to the state. After you have done this, you will need to make sure that the registration is renewed each year. The more that you are able to do to keep your safe and legal, the better off you will ultimately be in the end. Here are some of the ways that you will be able to get your registration renewed.
Taking advantage of the online renewal
For most people, having the convenience that comes with paying bills online is essential. The state of Tennessee will allow you to renew your registration online. Here is what you will need to do to make this process work:
- Go to the DOR county clerk website
- Find and select the county that you live in
- Put in your license plate number
- Pay the fees that the system says that you owe
In person renewal
If you want to go in person to renew the registration for your car, then you will also have that option. You will need to go to the local DMV in your area to accomplish this. Here is what you will need to do:
- Take in the renewal notice that you received
- Show your driver’s license
- Show proof of insurance
- Take care of the fees that you owe
You can follow the mailing instructions on your notice if you want to mail in your renewal payment.
Fees in Tennessee for registration renewal
The following are the fees that you will have to pay when trying to renew your registration in Tennessee:
- A regular license plate is $21.50
- A personalized plate is $56.50
You will need to get your emissions test 90 days before your renewal is due. The notice that you get will lay out all of the information you need to get this done. Go to the Tennessee DMV website for more information.