Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Register a Car in Utah

registration utah

Moving to a new area comes with a lot of challenges that you will have to meet head on to avoid getting overwhelmed. Utah is among the most popular states in the country due to the great weather and friendly citizens. When making a move to this great state, you will have to make sure that you get your car registered in a timely manner. You will have 60 days from the time you move to Utah to get your car registered without having to worry about paying a late fee. You will need to go to the Utah DMV in order to get your car registered. Here are some of the things that you will need to bring with you when trying to get your car registered:

  • Bring a completed Vehicle Application for Utah Title
  • Your current out of state registration
  • Proof that you have passed a safety inspection
  • The payment for the the fees that are involved in registering a car in Utah

If you are a resident of Utah who has just bought a new vehicle from a dealership, then you will not have to worry about handling the registration process on your own. Usually, the dealership will be able to get this done for you. You have to make sure that you get the paperwork from the registration so you can get a license plate.

For a Utah resident who has purchased a car from a private seller, here are the things you will need to bring to the DMV to get the car registered:

  • The signed title with your name on it
  • A Utah issued driver’s license
  • Proof that you have car insurance
  • Proof that you have passed a safety inspection

Here are some of the fees that you can expect to pay when bringing a passenger vehicle in to be registered:

  • A car that is less than three years old - $150 to register
  • If the vehicle is from three to six years old - $110 to register
  • Vehicles between six to nine years old - $80 to register
  • Cars that are nine to twelve years old - $50 to register
  • If the vehicle is twelve years old or older - $10 to register

Each of the vehicles that are registered in Utah will be subjected to a safety inspection. Be sure to visit the Utah DMV website for more information.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P2422 OBD-II Trouble Code: Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Valve Stuck Closed
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2422 P2422 code definition Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP)...
What are the Car Pool Rules in Hawaii?
Hawaii is widely regarded as a land of vacation and relaxation, and as such, its scenic roads and routes are far better known than the state’s freeways. But, as with all...


Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

Q: I had a shop from http://BMWmechanicBoca.Com tell me that I may need a battery registered for my BMW

Hello, thank you for writing in. Typically when you are prompted to register a new part or accessory, you are doing so for the warranty. This is a process of contacting the company and letting them know that you have...