How to Register a Car in Arkansas

All vehicles in Arkansas need to be registered through the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). If you have just purchased a vehicle, or have just moved to the state, your vehicle needs to be registered within 30 days.

Registration for new residents

If you are a new resident from out of state you need the following to register your vehicle:

  • Current vehicle registration from previous state
  • Title or certificate, or proof your vehicle is financed and the lienholder has the title
  • Proof of Arkansas insurance
  • Vehicle registration application
  • Bill of sale along with an odometer disclosure statement
  • Proof from the county assessor that the vehicle has been assessed or has been that current year
  • Proof you don’t owe personal property taxes, such as a receipt from the county’s tax office
  • VIN inspection
  • Registration fees

Once you purchase a vehicle, or have the title signed over in your name, the vehicle needs to be registered within 30 days. This includes gifts or vehicles transferred between family members.

Registering a vehicle

To register a vehicle you need to:

  • Show proof of ownership such as a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or a vehicle title
  • Have a signed copy of lien agreement
  • Have the vehicle registration application
  • Have the odometer disclosure statement for vehicles less than ten years old
  • Have a VIN verification
  • Show proof that your vehicle has been assessed by county assessor or has been assessed within the current year
  • Show proof of Arkansas auto insurance
  • Pay registration fees

The fees in Arkansas vary between vehicles and are based on different things, which include:

  • Type of vehicle
  • Gross weight
  • Title fees
  • City and county taxes
  • License plate

Registration and title fees

The following are registration fees based on your vehicle:

  • 3,000 pounds and under $17
  • 3,001 to 4,500 pounds $25
  • 4,501 pounds and over $30
  • Vans and trucks $21
  • Motorcycles less than 250 cc $3
  • Motorcycles over 250 cc $7

Military members who are residents of Arkansas must register the vehicle following the guidelines listed under Registering a Vehicle. For members who are stationed in Arkansas but not a resident, you may maintain the registration of your vehicle from your home state. In addition, if you decide to register your vehicle in Arkansas, you will be exempt from any assessment and/or property taxes by the state.

All vehicles in Arkansas must be registered in order to be legally driven on the road. Late fees do apply if you fail to register your vehicle within 30 days. The fee for a late registration is $3 for every 10 days. The fee for a late payment of sales tax is 10% of the amount you owe in sales tax.

Visit the Arkansas DMV website to find out more about what you can expect from this process.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Register a Car in Idaho
Register your car at the Idaho DMV within 90 days. The cost is $14-$62. Provide proof of car insurance, personal identification, and a VIN inspection.
Arkansas Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Arkansas. Speed limits in Arkansas 70 mph: rural freeways and interstate highways, as posted 65 mph: trucks on...
How to Register a Car in Oklahoma
When When moving to a new area, there are a variety of things that you will have to handle to comply with local laws. One of the first things that you need to do when moving to Oklahoma is to...

Related questions

Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

I have a 2008 chevy equinox. My battery light came n and my car shortly died after that. I have put in a new alternator in the p

Hi there. Anytime the battery light comes on, it's critical to have a professional mobile mechanic complete a battery light inspection; so they can determine why the light came on in the first place, and what is causing the issue....

My steering wheel jerks to the left.

You probably damaged a lower control arm. They aren't very strong and a slide into a curb is all it takes to bend one. There are a number of other components, like tie rods that can be damaged in that...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com