Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Missouri

registration Missouri

Most people neglect to see just how much of a privilege it is to drive on the roads in their area. For most Missouri residents, driving is something that they do without giving it much thought. Before you are able to drive on the Missouri roadways, you will need to register your car with the DMV. Once the car is registered, you will have to renew it each year to avoid getting a late fee or fine. The state of Missouri will send out a notice in the mail when it is time to get the registration renewed. After you have received that notice, this is what you will need to do.

Using the internet to your advantage

If you are familiar with a computer, then the online renewal may be just what you need. Here is what you will need to do to make this online transaction successful:

  • Go to the Department of Revenues online renewal page
  • You will be able to provide the PIN that came on your notice
  • You will be prompted to verify all information
  • Submit your chosen form of payment for the fees that you owe

Getting it done by mail

If you prefer a more traditional approach to the renewal process, then you will want to choose the mail in option. The following are the things you will need to do to get your renewal mailed in:

  • Get a completed renewal notice
  • Submit the safety inspection sheets
  • Have proof of insurance
  • Write a check for the fees

You will need to send all of this in an envelope to the address below:

Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street Room 370
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Go in person

If you would rather go in person to handle this process, then you will need to head down to the local DMV with these documents:

  • Completed Application For Motor Vehicle License Form
  • Safety emissions paperwork
  • Insurance proof
  • The money to pay the fees you owe

The fees to renew a car registration

Here are the fees that you will have to pay when trying to renew your registration:

  • Passenger vehicles less than 12 HP cost $18.25 to renew
  • 12-23 HP cost $21.25 to renew
  • 24-35 HP cost $24.25 to renew
  • 36-47 HP cost $33.25 to renew
  • 48-59 HP cost $39.25 to renew
  • 60-71 HP cost $45.25 to renew

Emissions and safety inspections

If you are required to get a safety inspection before renewing the registration, then you will be notified by the state. The following counties will require an emissions test before registering:

  • Franklin
  • Jefferson
  • St. Charles
  • St. Louis

If you need more information on this process, visit the Missouri DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...
How to Buy Fuel Treatments
Adding a fuel additive to your gas tank when you fill up is one way to clean vital engine parts of deposits, improve the performance of your engine,...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....


Related questions

Q: Is it illegal to have license plates as body work?

Hi Salvador, this is an interesting question. I'm not sure if it's legal or not so your best bet is to contact the Missouri DMV and see what they say.

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.