Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-8827-1rdc6tgjs:173:8

How to Register a Car in Illinois

Registration Illinois

All vehicles must be registered through the Illinois Secretary of State’s (SOS) office. If you have just moved to Illinois, you must register your vehicle within 30 days in person at the SOS office. Auto insurance must be purchased before registering the vehicle.

New resident registration

If you are new resident and wish to register you vehicle you must provide the following:

  • A completed application for vehicle transaction form
  • Evidence you live in Illinois
  • Registration and title
  • Description of vehicle, such as make, model, and year, VIN, and date of purchase
  • Tax forms, which depend on whether you bought from a private seller or dealer
  • Registration fee, which is $101
  • Tax fees, which are based on the value of the car

As soon as you buy or receive a vehicle in Illinois, whether you have purchased it or inherited it, you have 20 days to register it. If you purchase it from a dealer, they send all of the documents to the SOS office. It is important to double check with the dealer to make sure everything is completed. If you bought your vehicle from a private seller, you must register the vehicle yourself, in person, at the local SOS office.

Registering a vehicle

To register any vehicle you need to provide the following:

  • A completed application for vehicle transaction
  • The title of the vehicle signed by the previous owner
  • Lienholders’ addresses and names, if applicable
  • A filled out odometer disclosure statement for title transfer
  • The Tax Form RUT-50 Private Party Vehicle Tax Transaction
  • Pay registration fees, which are $101
  • Taxes are based on the value of the vehicle

Military members who are not residents of Illinois must have auto insurance and proper registration on their vehicles from their home state. If this is not done, a law enforcement officer can pull you over and risk getting a fine.

Illinois does not require emissions testing to register a vehicle. However, vehicles are required to have regular emissions tests. You can do this by submitting your VIN to the Title and Registration Status Inquiry page, which will tell you if you need an emissions test.

If you have any more questions about this process, be sure to visit the Illinois CyberDrive SOS website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

How Long Does a Distributor O Ring Last?
The distributor is part of the ignition system in your vehicle and its purpose is to route high voltage from the ignition coil to the spark plug. The spark plug then...
How Long Does a Vacuum Brake Booster Check Valve Last?
The braking system on your car requires a lot of pressure. The vacuum booster is one of the main sources of this pressure. This booster will take the pressure that...
How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oklahoma(DELETED)
Having your car registered with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is an important part of driving legally in this state. You will need to do this within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma...


Related questions

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...