Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Register a Car in North Dakota

registration North Dakota

There are so many different factors that will have to be considered when moving to a new state. Making a move to North Dakota can be quite beneficial for a number of different reasons. Just like any other state, North Dakota has a number of laws that you will need to abide by. Among the first laws that you will need to comply with are the ones regarding the registering of vehicles. In order to avoid getting it with late fees, you will need to have your car registered within 30 days of becoming a resident. You will need to go into the North Dakota Department of Motor Vehicles in order to get your registration. Here are the things that you will need to take with you when trying to get your vehicle registered properly with the state.

  • A completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration of a vehicle
  • A valid driver’s license
  • A signed copy of the vehicle’s title
  • Proof of car insurance

For citizens of North Dakota who have bought a new car from a dealership, they will be able to get the registration handle by the professionals who sold them the car. You have to make sure you get all of the paperwork regarding the registration of the car from the dealership. This paperwork is needed to get a license plate for the vehicle.

In some cases, the car that a North Dakota resident purchases will be bought from a private seller. If this is the case, then you will have to handle the registry process yourself. Before going into the DMV, you will need to make sure you have these documents.

  • Your driver’s license
  • The title of the vehicle with your name on it
  • The certificate of origin
  • An odometer reading off of the vehicle

Getting your car registered will require you to pay some fees. Here are the fees that you can expect to pay when registering your car with the North Dakota DMV.

  • For a six month registration it is $60
  • If you are getting a year-long registration, then you will pay $120
  • Motorcycles will cost $20 for a six month registration and $60 for a year-long one

You have to make sure that you get the right type of car insurance before going in to the DMV. If you are unsure about what to do, then visit the North Dakota DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

P0222 OBD-II Trouble Code: Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input
P0222 code definition Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input What the P0222 code means The manufacturer specifies a range of acceptable voltage to be produced from the throttle position...
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....


Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

Q: Engine overheats.

Overheating can do extensive damage to your engine. If your vehicle is overheating, you want to get it fixed as soon as possible. There are many issues that can cause overheating; from a stuck closed thermostat to a blown head...

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.