North Dakota Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics

When you are driving in North Dakota, you need to know more than just the rules of the road. You also need to know the rules of parking to make sure that you do not park in a location that will end up getting you a citation and fine or having your car towed away to the impound yard.

Whenever you are parking your vehicle, the first thing you have to consider is whether or not your car or truck could become a hazard. You never want the vehicle to be dangerous or to block traffic. The following are some of the most important rules you will want to remember when parking in North Dakota.

Parking laws to remember

When you are parking your vehicle there are certain areas where you are never allowed to park unless ordered by a police officer. For example, you cannot park on sidewalks or within ten feet of crosswalks that are at an intersection. You cannot park within an intersection either. Double parking, where you park on the street side of an already parked or stopped vehicle, is also a traffic violation. It is also a hazard and it can slow down traffic.

Drivers are not allowed to park in front of a driveway either. Doing so would be an inconvenience for people who need to get into and out of the driveway. You cannot park within 10 feet of a fire hydrant in North Dakota either. Do not park in a tunnel, an underpass, or on an overpass or bridge. If there is a stop sign or a traffic control signal on the side of the road, you are not allowed to park within 15 feet of it.

You cannot park between a safety zone and the curb that is next to it. In addition, you cannot park within “15 feet of the points on the curb immediately opposite the ends of a safety zone.” These are areas that are specifically for pedestrians.

If there is street excavation, or there is any other type of obstruction along the roadway, you are not allowed to park near it or on the opposite side of it. Doing so would limit the amount of travelable area on the roadway, and it could slow the flow of traffic.

There may also be signs in other areas that signify that you are not allowed to park there. When you see a blue parking space or a blue curb, it is reserved for handicapped people. Unless you have the special plates or the placards that would indicate you are allowed to park there, don’t do it. Other people really need these spots, and you can be sure that a fine is in the future.

The rules and regulations can vary somewhat based on the town or city where you live. It is a good idea to check out the parking laws for your town and to keep an eye out for signs that could indicate the parking laws for certain areas.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

The Guide To Colored Curb Zones in Massachusetts
###Massachusetts ###Massachusetts parking laws: understanding the basics The parking laws in Massachusetts are developed by the state and then enforced by the cities and the towns. As such, this means that the cost of the fines for parking violations can...
The Guide To Colored Curb Zones in Rhode Island
Rhode Rhode Island parking laws: understanding the basics Drivers in Rhode Island need to be aware of the parking laws in their state and community. Failure to abide by the parking laws could mean fines, and it could mean your...
The Guide to Colored Curb Laws in All States
Parking laws exist to prevent blocked access for emergency vehicles or handicap spots. Prevent tickets by knowing your state's colored curb zone laws.

Related questions

Engine overheats.
Overheating can do extensive damage to your engine. If your vehicle is overheating, you want to get it fixed as soon as possible. There are many issues that can cause overheating; from a stuck closed thermostat to a blown head...
Trunk not closing
Hello. First, please keep in mind that the trunk cannot be locked until the convertible top is completely up or down. This prevents any components from binding and becoming stuck or broken. Have a mechanic, such as our YourMechanic experts,...
I have 2008 toyota highlander with vsc/trac off check engine light. I took to the shop and get the diagnostic. They are saying it
Hello - the first task is to determine what problem codes are causing the Check Engine light to be on. The VSC/Traction Control messages would be related to a wheel speed sensor, ABS module or brake light issue - not...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com