$125.02 - $465.01
Maine parking laws: understanding the basics
Maine drivers will understand the importance of safe driving whether in the city or on back roads through the woods. They know that they need to follow the laws of the road so they do not get pulled over. However, it is just as important to make sure you are following the regulations and laws when it comes to parking your vehicle. If you do not park your vehicle in the right areas, you could get a fine. You might also find that your vehicle is towed.
There are a number of different municipalities throughout the state, and it is important to remember that each of them may have their own laws that you will have to follow. In addition, they will have their own fine schedules, so the same infraction in two different towns could have different fine costs.
Rules of parking
The law states that it is illegal for drivers to park their vehicles on reserved bike lanes. In addition, you cannot park too closely to intersections, as this could block the visibility of traffic going through the intersection. The exact distance can vary based on the town or city ordinances.
Drivers are not allowed to park in a crosswalk or in front of a handicapped access ramp. In addition, it is illegal to park or stop near the roadway side of a vehicle that is already parked. This is called double parking, and even if you are only stopping for a few minutes to let out a passenger, it is illegal. Doing so will impede the traffic on the street, and it could be dangerous if people driving along the road are not expecting your vehicle to be there.
It is illegal to park within 10 feet of a fire hydrant. Naturally, you are not allowed to park on sidewalks either. You also need to make sure you are not parking in an area that is reserved for people with disabilities unless you have special plates or a placard that will allow you to park there. If you park in one of these locations without the legal right to do so, you could face fines of $100 throughout the state.
You are not allowed to park within a loading zone, or within 15 feet of a crosswalk. You have to be at least 15 feet away from the entrance to a fire station, and you cannot park directly across from the entrance either. Maine drivers cannot park at the entrance to hotels, churches, schools, hospitals, theaters, and other public places during hours designated by signage.
When you are parking, it is always a good idea to look for markings on the curbs, as well as signs, which can indicate whether you are allowed to park their or not. Follow the laws and regulations in your area so you do not get a ticket. If you do happen to get a ticket, even though it is not a moving violation, you will want to pay the fine as soon as possible so it does not increase.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING