$124.62 - $450.29
Oregon parking laws: understanding the basics
When you are driving throughout Oregon, you need to know all of the laws that are applicable to driving and to keeping safe. Of course, it is also important to know the laws associate with parking. If you do not park properly, your vehicle could become a hazard to other motorists. In addition, if you park in the wrong location, you might end up with a large fine or you might come back to where you parked only to find that your vehicle has been towed. By understanding the basic laws of parking, you can minimize your risk.
Parking laws to know
There are a number of different places where you are not allowed to park whether you are in the vehicle or not. You are not allowed to stop or park in a traffic lane on streets, roads, and highways. You cannot park in an intersection or a crosswalk, or on a sidewalk or a bike lane. It is illegal to park on railroads or light rail tracks. In addition, you cannot double park in Oregon. This occurs when a vehicle stops or parks on the roadway side of another vehicle that is already at the side of the road and parked. Even if you are only going to be there for a few seconds to drop someone off, it is illegal as well as dangerous.
Drivers cannot stop on bridges, in tunnels or on overpasses. You can’t park between separate roads of a divided highway either. If there is construction or roadwork, you are not allowed to park or stop in the vicinity if doing so would cause traffic to be impeded.
Parking in front of a public driveway or private driveway and hindering access to the driveway is illegal as well. When parked, you need to be at least 10 feet away from fire hydrants, 20 feet away from marked or unmarked crosswalks at intersections, and 50 feet from a traffic signal or sign if your vehicle hides it from view. Never park in a handicapped zone or space either, unless you have the plates and placards that will allow you to do so.
If you are parking on the same side of the street as a fire station in Oregon, you need to be at least 15 feet away from the entrance. If you are parking on the opposite side of the street, you need to be at least 75 feet away. You have to be at least 50 feet from the nearest rail of a railroad or light rail crossing when parking.
While the laws of the state are similar in many of the communities around the state, some towns and cities may have their own laws and fine schedules. It is a good idea to check the local laws to be sure when you are parking. In addition, you will want to check the signs in the area, as they will often let you know if and when parking is allowed.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING