Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

Minnesota Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics

Minnesota Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics

Knowing how and where to park legally in Minnesota is just as important as knowing the rules of being on the road, such as the speed limits and proper signaling and lane changing procedures. If you park in the wrong area, you could get a citation and a fine, and you could even have your vehicle towed. Following the parking laws will reduce that risk. Keep in mind that there could be some different regulations and laws based on the city and town where you live. However, they will generally be very similar to the rules enacted by the state.

The parking rules and regulations

When you are properly parked parallel to a curb, your wheels on the curb side should be no more than 12 inches from the curb. There are many locations where you are not allowed to park. Many of them are common sense, but you will want to know the specifics so you do not get a fine.

You cannot park within an intersection, on a crosswalk, or on a sidewalk. You are not allowed to park within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection, and you have to be at least 30 feet away from stop signs, flashing lights, or traffic signals at the side of public roads. You have to be at least 50 feet away from the nearest rail of a railroad crossing. You need to make sure you are parked at least 10 feet away from fire hydrants.

If there is any excavation or street construction occurring, or if there is any other obstruction in the roadway, you need to make sure that parking in the area would not obstruct traffic in any way. Do not park on a bridge or a highway tunnel. You are not allowed to double park either. Double parking is parking on the road side of a vehicle that is stopped or parked at the curb already. This would slow traffic down, and it could be dangerous. Do not fall into the trap of thinking that it’s okay if you are only there for a few seconds. It is still illegal.

If the curb is painted yellow, you cannot park there. You cannot park in front of mailboxes either. You will need to refer to the ordinances in your city to determine just how far away from them you will need to park. Also, do not park at the street end of a driveway.

If you receive a fine for a parking infraction, the price can vary based on the location where it occurred. Towns and cities will create their own fine schedules. When you adhere to the rules discussed here, you can reduce the chance of getting a ticket, and that can help to put your mind at ease.

Before you park anywhere, it is a good idea to check for signs that could indicate whether you are allowed to park in the area or not. Being vigilant will reduce your risk of getting a ticket.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.


Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.


More related articles

How Long Does a Vacuum Brake Booster Check Valve Last?
The braking system on your car requires a lot of pressure. The vacuum booster is one of the main sources of this pressure. This booster will take the pressure that...
How Long Does a Throttle Return Spring Last?
Not all vehicles on the road feature an electronic throttle control (ETC), which is also called drive-by-wire. For vehicles that don't offer this system, they have a throttle cable instead that...
How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oklahoma(DELETED)
Having your car registered with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is an important part of driving legally in this state. You will need to do this within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma...

Related questions