$124.62 - $450.29
New Hampshire parking laws: understanding the basics
Drivers in New Hampshire need to know more than just the rules and laws of driving on the road. They also need to understand the parking laws so they know where they can and cannot park. Failure to adhere to the parking laws could result in a fine, and in some cases, you may even have your vehicle towed. You do not want to deal with hefty fines or the hassle of getting your vehicle out of impound, so make sure you understand the basics of parking in New Hampshire.
Where is parking not allowed?
You will find there are a number of locations where it is prohibited to park. If you do park in those areas, you are doing so at your own risk, and you will likely receive a citation. Drivers are not allowed to park on sidewalks or in intersections. You can’t park in crosswalks, in a highway tunnel, or on a bridge. Double parking, where the driver parks alongside another vehicle on the roadside, is illegal as well. It doesn’t matter if you are only going to be there for a few seconds to pick someone up or drop someone off. It is still double parking, and you could receive a fine.
You are not allowed to park on any street where there is not enough room for other vehicles to pass between the parked cars and the far curb. In addition, you cannot park in front of a driveway.
Never park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant, 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection, or within 20 feet of a stop sign, traffic signal, or yield sign. If you are parking on a street with a fire station, you need to be 20 feet from the entrance when parking on the same side, or 75 feet from the entrance when parking on the opposite side. You cannot park within 50 feet of the nearest railroad crossing either.
Whenever you park, you want to make sure that your vehicle is in no way a hazard to other vehicles or pedestrians.
What if you need to leave your vehicle on the side of the road for a few hours because of an emergency? You need to get the vehicle as far from the side of the road as possible to make sure it doesn’t cause issues with the other traffic on the road. In addition, the police in New Hampshire will often have vehicles on the side of the road towed, even if they are out of the roadway. If you have an emergency and need to leave the vehicle, it is a good idea to leave a note to notify the police of what happens and tell them how to contact you.
Keep in mind that different cities and towns across the state may have their own ordinances and fine schedule when it comes to parking violations. You will need to follow the laws where you live to make sure you are not in danger of getting a ticket or getting towed. Pay attention to the signs and pavement markings that will dictate where you can and cannot park.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING