Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

Colorado Parking Laws

colored curb

Colorado parking laws: understanding the basics

Many drivers in Colorado are well aware of the regulations and laws when they are out driving on the roads. However, they may not be quite as familiar with the laws regarding parking. If you do not know where it is illegal to park, you could be facing some fines from the city or town where you live. In some cases, your vehicle might even be towed and impounded. It is important to have a basic understanding of these laws to avoid these issues.

Know the laws

In Colorado, there are a number of regulations and laws that prohibit parking unless it is an emergency. Understanding these laws will help to ensure that you do not park your vehicle in an area that could cause you to receive a ticket and an expensive fine that you would much rather avoid. If you have to park in a public area, it is always a good idea to make sure that you are as far off the road as possible. This will ensure that traffic can still flow smoothly, and that there is much less of a risk of an accident.

Unless a law enforcement officer tells you to pull over in one of the following areas, you should never park there. Drivers are forbidden to park in intersections or on sidewalks and crosswalks. It is illegal to park between a safety zone and a curb as well. If there is construction and excavation happening on the street, or if there is an obstruction in the roadway, you are not allowed to park opposite or next to it.

Never park in a highway tunnel, an overpass, or a bridge. In addition, you cannot park on railroad tracks. In fact, you cannot park within 50 feet of a railroad crossing. Drivers are not allowed to park within 20 feet of a fire station driveway either.

Colorado parking law also states that you cannot park within five feet of a public or private driveway. If you park too close, it could make it difficult or impossible for other drivers to get into or out of it. Do not park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant, or within 30 feet of a flashing beacon, yield sign, stop sign, or traffic signal.

There may be other areas that prohibit parking. They will generally be denoted with signs, or the curb may be painted red, which would indicate a fire lane. Always pay attention to the signs to make sure you do not park in the wrong place inadvertently.

What are the fines?

Each town and city in Colorado will likely have its own set of regulations and laws for parking, which you will have to follow. In addition, the fines can vary based on the city or town where you received the ticket. It is important to make sure that you pay for your fines as soon as possible, so that they do not increase.

By paying attention to the laws and the signs, you should not run into any trouble when it comes to parking in Colorado.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

How to Find the Keyless Code on a Ford Explorer or Mercury Mountaineer
Many Ford Explorers and Mercury Mountaineers were manufactured with an option known as the Ford keyless entry keypad. Some models refer to it as SecuriCode as well. It...
P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...
How to Transfer a Car Title in Idaho
In order to prove ownership of a car, you must have the title. However, when a car is sold, given away or inherited, the title needs...


Related questions

Q: Check Engine light revealed thermostat problem

Sounds like you have a code P0128. The computer monitors the warm up cycle of your engine -- it looks for your coolant temperature to rise to a certain level within a given time frame. The computer does this...

Q: Vehicle made noise and overheated

Hello. Generally, that noise could be from several issues related to losing coolant. First, visually inspect the engine compartment for external damage to the radiator; the engine fan may have been hitting it. You can fill up the coolant to...

Q: whinning noise

Hi there. In most cases, when the engine makes a whining noise that increases as your vehicle accelerates, it's caused by a drive, serpentine or alternator belt or the belt's pulleys. It's possible that your serpentine belt was replaced that...