Florida Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics

Florida Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics

Drivers in the state of Florida need to be aware of where they are parking their vehicles to ensure they are not breaking the law. While most drivers are well aware of the rules of the road, they have to remember that they still have to follow the law, as well as common courtesy, when it comes to parking. If you park in an area that is a no parking zone, you could face some stiff fines. Some drivers may even find that they have had their vehicle towed.

Parking laws

When you are parking on a public road, you need to make sure that your vehicle is as far away from traffic as possible, so it doesn’t interfere with the passage of traffic. Your vehicle must always be within 12 inches of the curb. In addition, drivers are not allowed to park in a handicapped spot, generally indicated in blue, unless they have an official permit for the vehicle stating that they are transporting a disabled person.

In Florida, curbs that are colored yellow are no parking zones, and they are generally found near intersections and in front of fire hydrants. The markings should be easy to see, so you do not accidentally park too close. It is important to pay attention to where you park. Don’t only look for the colored curbs, but also for any signage that may indicate whether parking in that particular area is prohibited or not.

Yellow or white stripes, painted diagonally mark obstructions that are fixed. This could include a median or a no parking zone. Drivers are not allowed to drive through or park in areas that have pavement markings that indicate safety zones and fire lanes.

Something to keep in mind is that the exact regulations can vary based on the city in Florida. Some cities will have their own statutes regarding where you can and can’t park, and you will need to follow these. In addition, the amount you will have to pay for your fines can vary quite a bit from one town to the next. Each city will set their own fine schedule.

If you receive a fine, the ticket will let you know how much you have to pay and when you have to pay it. Those who are late paying their fees will find that their fines double, and there could be a collection penalty added to the cost. According to the parking laws in the state of Florida, the ticket could go into collections in as little as 14 days, so always pay attention to the dates on your ticket to make sure you can avoid this issue.

It is a good idea to get into the practice of checking for curb markings, as well as for any signs that indicate where you can and can’t park. This will help reduce the risk of getting a ticket, or coming back to the spot where you parked only to find out that the city has towed your vehicle.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!

More related articles

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oklahoma(DELETED)
Having your car registered with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is an important part of driving legally in this state. You will need to do this within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma...
P0052 OBD-II Trouble Code: HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1)
P0052 code definition HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1) What the P0052 code means This code is seen when the Engine Control Module (ECM) tries to control the...
How to Transfer a Car Title in Idaho
In order to prove ownership of a car, you must have the title. However, when a car is sold, given away or inherited, the title needs...

Related questions