$124.62 - $450.29
Alaska parking laws: understanding the basics
Many of the cities in Alaska will have their own specific parking laws that apply to that town or municipality only. However, there are a number of regulations and laws that tend to apply throughout the state. It is very important that drivers in Alaska make sure they follow and obey these parking laws so they do not receive a fine.
Basic parking law regulations
If you are outside of the city or town, and you are going to park adjacent to the roadway, you need to make sure that all four wheels of the vehicle are off the road, if it is possible. You may not be able to do this in all circumstances, but you should try to find an area of the road where you can get the vehicle completely off of it to avoid any potential accidents. In addition, when you are parked off the road, you need to use your low beams or parking headlights at night. However, if you are more than eight feet off of the paved area, you do not need to use the lights.
In many towns around the state, you will find “No Parking Zones.” These areas will typically be designated by a red or yellow painted curb. In addition, there may be signage that indicates these no parking areas.
Double parking, or parking parallel to a vehicle that is already parked at the curb, is never allowed. Another thing to remember is that in Alaska, you are not allowed to park a vehicle, leave it, and leave the engine running while you are away, even if you are only gone for a few minutes. If the vehicle is parked and unattended, you should also remove your keys.
After you have parallel parked, you need to make sure that your wheels are within 12 inches of the curb.
Required distances for parking in specified locations
The following distances are very important to remember, as failure to adhere to them can result in a fine, and you may have your vehicle towed. You must always park at least 15 feet away from a fire hydrant, which will allow the fire department to access it in the event of a fire. You must also park at least 20 feet away from the entrance to any fire station. Another rule to remember is that if any fire apparatus, such as a fire engine, is answering a fire alarm, you need to park at least 500 feet away.
In addition, you have to park at least 30 feet away from stop signs and 50 feet from any railroad crossing. You must also park at least 20 feet from a crosswalk or intersection.
Check your local area
Various towns and cities in Alaska will have their own regulations and laws when it comes to parking. Check the regulations in your area, and always be sure to pay close attention to any signage that will let you know when and where you are able to park in different locations. This will help to ensure you don’t get a fine.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING