$124.62 - $450.29
North Carolina parking laws: understanding the basics
Drivers in North Carolina need to make sure they are paying attention to the rules and laws of parking just as much as they do when their vehicle is in motion. If you park in the wrong area, there is a very good chance that you will receive a citation and a fine. Many times, your car will end up being towed as well. It’s not a fun thought to come back to your vehicle to find that it’s been towed or that you have a parking ticket awaiting you. Therefore, it is very important that drivers in North Carolina have an understanding of the parking laws they need to follow.
Things to remember about parking
Unless you are on a one-way street, you should always park on the right side of the road. There are a number of places where you are not allowed to park as well. Understanding these rules and regulations will help ensure you do not get an avoidable parking ticket.
First, keep in mind that you are not allowed to park in front of a driveway, or in an intersection. Doing so is not only illegal, it can be a hazard and cause an inconvenience for other drivers. Parking in one of these areas is likely to get your vehicle towed.
Drivers are not permitted to park within 25 feet of the curb line of an intersecting street, or within 15 feet of right of way lines that intersect if the street does not have a curb. You cannot park on bridges, sidewalks, or crosswalks, and you must be at least 15 feet away from the entrance of a fire station or a fire hydrant.
Parking on the paved area, or the main travel part of any highway is illegal. It is also illegal to park on the shoulder of the road unless the vehicle can be seen by drivers in both directions for at least 200 feet.
Double parking is also against the law in North Carolina. If another car is parked, stopped, or standing at the side of the road or the curb, you cannot pull up alongside the road side edge of their vehicle and stop your car. This would be a serious hazard and it would slow traffic.
If you are inside city limits, you cannot park within one block of a fire or a fire truck. If you are outside of the city limits, you need to be at least 400 feet away. Also, do not park in spaces that are designated for handicapped people. They will generally have signs and have blue markings on the curb or the space. To park in these locations, you need to have a special license plate or a placard. If you are in one of these spots illegally, you can expect to pay a fine.
Drivers in North Carolina should make sure they keep an eye out for signs and markings whenever they are getting ready to park as well. This can reduce the risk of parking in the wrong area by mistake.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING