$125.02 - $443.96
New Jersey parking laws: understanding the basics
One of the important things to note about parking alongside the curb in New Jersey is the required distance between the curb and the car. You need to be within six inches of the curb, which is much closer than it is in most other states. It is very important for motorists to make sure they read all of the parking signs before they park on any street. The signs will indicate whether they are allowed to park there, as well as what times it is legal to park in that location. Drivers must never park in a manner that would block other traffic. There are a number of locations where drivers are never allowed to park.
Illegal parking in New Jersey
Unless a police officer directs you to park, or you need to do so to avoid an accident, you should never park in any of the following locations. Never park on a crosswalk, between a safety zone for pedestrians and adjacent to the curb or within 20 feet of the safety zone’s end.
When street construction is properly marked, you cannot park near it or across the street from it. This could cause traffic to slow down, and your vehicle could actually become a hazard in the roadway.
Do not park on a sidewalk, in a bus stop zone, or within an intersection. Never park so that you block a public or private driveway either. It is discourteous to other drivers and people who may need to get into or out of their driveway. Do not park within 10 feet of a fire hydrant or within 25 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection. You cannot park within 50 feet of a stop sign or a railroad crossing either.
If there is a fire station on the street where you need to park, you cannot be within 20 feet of the driveway entrance when you are parking on the same side of the street. If you are going to park on the opposite side of the street, you need to be at least 75 feet away from the entrance. You cannot park on any elevated roadways, such as an overpass, or within a tunnel, or on a bridge.
Double parking is also against the law. This occurs when a driver parks on the road side of a vehicle that is already parked, which is sure to cause problems with the traffic coming down the road. It could also become a hazard, as people driving down the road will not expect your vehicle to be in the way. Even if you only need to stop to let someone out for just a second, it is still dangerous and illegal.
Unless you have the legal authorization and the plates or placards to prove it, you may not park in a handicapped parking space.
Keep in mind that there may be local ordinances that supersede regulations from the state. Always follow your local laws when applicable, and make sure that you check for signage that indicates parking rules.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING