$124.62 - $450.29
Drivers in the state of Tennessee have to pay attention to the laws of the road while they are out and driving, but they also need to make sure they know and understand all of the parking laws present in the state. While there may be some slight differences to the laws in various towns and cities, they are generally very similar. Understanding the following laws will help ensure you are parking in the right locations. If you don’t, you run the risk of getting fined, or even having your vehicle towed.
The colored curbs
Many times, parking restrictions will be denoted by colored curbs. There are three main colors, each indicating what is allowed in that zone.
A curb that is painted white means that you can stop in the area, but you can only stop long enough to load and unload passengers. If the curb is painted yellow, you can stop to load and unload cargo from your vehicle. You will need to stay with your vehicle though. When you see a curb that has been painted red, it means that you are not allows to stop, stand, or park in the space under any circumstances.
Other parking laws to remember
There are many places where you are not able to park, and rules that you have to abide by when you are able to park your vehicle. It is not permissible to park a vehicle in front of a public or private driveway. This would block the people who need to get into and out of the driveway. It is a hassle for them, and it could even be a hazard if there is an emergency.
Drivers are not permitted to park on the paved or unpaved sections of entrance and exit ramps on the interstate highway. The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle is disabled. Drivers can’t park on intersections, on fire lanes, or within 15 feet of a fire hydrant. You have to be at least 20 feet away from crosswalks. If parking on a street with a fire station, you need to be at least 20 feet away from the entrance when parking on the same side. If you are parking on the other side, you need to be at least 75 feet away from the entrance.
You have to be at least 30 feet away from stop signs, traffic signals, and other traffic control devices, and 50 feet away from railroad crossings. You can’t park on sidewalks, on bridges, or in tunnels. Double parking is not allowed in Tennessee either.
It is important that you do not park in handicapped parking spaces unless you have the special plates and placards that allow you to do so. These spaces are reserved for a reason, and you will face heavy fines if you violate this law.
Always look for official signs and markings that will indicate whether you can park in an area or not. This will help reduce your risk of getting a fine or getting your vehicle towed.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING