$124.88 - $443.82
New York parking laws: understanding the basics
If you are a licensed driver in the state of New York, you are likely well aware of the various laws regarding the roads. You know the speed limits and you know the proper way to pass vehicles on the highway. However, did you know that you have to put just as much consideration into where you park your vehicle. If you park in the wrong location, then you will receive a ticket and a fine. In some cases, you may even have your vehicle towed. Instead of going through the hassle of paying a fine and maybe even having to get your vehicle out of the impound yard, you should learn some of the most important rules to parking in New York.
Understand the different types of parking
The term parking can actually mean three different things, and it is important to have an understanding of each in New York. If you see a sign that says No Parking, it means you can only make temporary stops to load or unload passengers and merchandise. If the sign says No Standing, it means you can only make a temporary stop to load or unload passengers. If the sign says No Stopping, it means that you are only able to stop to obey traffic signals, signs, or police officers, or to ensure there is not an accident with another vehicle.
Rules for parking, standing, or stopping
You are not allowed to park, stand, or stop within 15 feet of a fire hydrant unless a licensed driver stays with the vehicle. This is so they can move the vehicle in the event of an emergency. You are not permitted to double park your vehicle, even if you believe you will only be there for a few minutes. It is still a hazard and it is still illegal.
You can’t park, stand, or stop on sidewalks, in crosswalks, or in an intersection unless there are parking meters or signs that permit it. Don’t park on railroad tracks or within 30 feet of a pedestrian safety area, unless there is signage that has another distance marked. You are not allowed to park on a bridge or in a tunnel either.
In addition, you can’t park, stop, or stand next to or on the opposite side of the street from roadwork or construction, or anything else that obstructs part of the road if your vehicle would then block traffic.
You are not allowed to park or stand in front of a driveway. You need to be at least 20 feet from a crosswalk at an intersection and 30 feet from a yield sign, stop sign, or traffic light. You have to be at least 20 feet from the entrance to a fire station when parking on the same side of the road and 75 feet when parking on the opposite side of the road. You can’t park or stand in front of a lowered curb, and you cannot park your vehicle within 50 feet of a railroad crossing.
Always watch for signs that will indicate where you can and cannot park to help you avoid the possibility of fines.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING