$125.02 - $464.04
The State of Maine mandates very strict requirements for the transportation of children in motor vehicles. These are simply common-sense procedures that have been codified in order to protect children. They are etched in the law simply because people cannot always be trusted to exercise common sense.
Summary of Maine’s child seat safety laws
In Maine, the child seat safety laws can be summarized as follows.
Children under 40 pounds
- Any child weighing less than 40 pounds must be secured in a child seat, in accordance with the instructions laid out by the manufacturer of the seat.
Children 40-79 pounds
- Any child weighing at least 40 pounds, but under 80, must be secured using a child restraint system that meets federal standards.
Children ages 8-18
- Any passenger in a motor vehicle who is under the age of 18 but 8 years or older and over 57 inches in height must use a seat belt.
Children under 12 and under 100 pounds
- Any child that is under the age of 12, and under 100 pounds in weight, must be secured in the rear seat if at all possible.
If a child has a medical condition that would make restraint problematic, then the laws governing restraint will not apply. Documentation from a physician is required to qualify for an exemption.
If you violate the child seat safety laws in the State of Maine, you can be fined $50 for your first offense, and a maximum of $250 for any subsequent offenses.
Of course the potential for a fine should not be your only reason for obeying the child seat safety laws in Maine. They are in place to protect your child, and that is first and foremost why you should comply.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING