Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Idaho

registration idaho

For most people, driving a car is important due to the freedom that it gives them. In order to pay for this freedom, a car owner will have to make sure that they keep their car registered. The state of Idaho requires their citizens to renew their registration every year. The last thing that you want to do is to let this registration lapse due to the money that it can cost you. In most cases, you will receive a notice when this registration renewal is due. Once you have received the renewal, you will be able to find out how you want to handle it.

Renewing the registration online

For more people, using the internet to pay bills is a convenience thing. The state of Idaho will allow you to renew your registration online. Here is how you will need to go about renewing this online:

  • Go to the ITD Online Renewal Service
  • You will need your driver’s license
  • You will need the registration renewal that you have received in the mail
  • Have a valid credit or debit card to pay the fee that you owe.

Handling the renewal process in person

If you would prefer to handle this process in person, then the state of Idaho will also allow you to do that. Here is what you will need to do when trying to renew your registration in person:

  • Go to the ITD county assessor office
  • Have your driver’s license with you
  • Take in your renewal card that you got in the mail
  • Make a payment for the fees that you owe

The fees you will need to pay

The fees that you will pay for your registration renewal will be based on the age of your car. Here is what you can expect to pay when renewing the registration on your vehicle:

  • Vehicles one to two years old - $48 to renew
  • Vehicles three to four years old - $36 to renew
  • Vehicles five to six years old - $36 to renew
  • Vehicles seven years old and older - $24 to renew

Emission testing

The only county that you will have to undergo an emissions test is Canyon County. For more information on this process, be sure to go to the Idaho DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P0359 OBD-II Trouble Code: Ignition Coil I Primary/Secondary Circuit Malfunction
P0359 code definition The P0359 code indicates that a fault has been detected in one of the vehicle’s ignition coils, generally the number 9 coil. This code can also be associated...


Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

Q: I had a shop from http://BMWmechanicBoca.Com tell me that I may need a battery registered for my BMW

Hello, thank you for writing in. Typically when you are prompted to register a new part or accessory, you are doing so for the warranty. This is a process of contacting the company and letting them know that you have...

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.