Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-103658-159zxipjs:173:8

How to Register a Car in Pennsylvania

registration pennsylvania

Pennsylvania is a great state that is rich in both history and natural wonder. There is no mystery why so many people choose to make this state their home. If you are among the many that are moving to Pennsylvania, then you will need to make sure you register your vehicle. In order to avoid being fined, you will have to register your car at the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation no later than 20 days after you move. Before you go to the DOT, you will need to collect a few things to make this process go smoothly. Here is what you will need to bring with you:

  • Pennsylvania issued driver’s license
  • Proof that you have car insurance
  • Produce your vehicle identification number
  • The title of the vehicle
  • Payment for the fees involved with registering the vehicle

If you are already a resident of Pennsylvania and have bought a new car from a dealership, you will probably be able to let them handle the registration process. If the car lot does handle this for you, be sure to get copies of all of the documents. This will make it a lot easier for you to get the license plate when the time comes.

For residents who have bought a new car from a private seller, here is what will need to happen for them to get the vehicle registered:

  • Produce either the title for the vehicle or the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin
  • Have a valid driver’s license
  • Proof that you have car insurance
  • A copy of the paperwork stating the car has been inspected
  • A completed copy of the Application for Certificate of Title

The fees that you can expect to pay during the registration process are as follows:

  • Passenger vehicles will cost $36 to register
  • Motorcycles will cost $18 to register
  • Vehicle title fee is $51
  • If there is a lien on the car, it will be $75 to record the title

Your car will need to have an emissions inspection before you are able to get it registered. For most information on this process and more, visit the Pennsylvania DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...
What are the Car Pool Rules in Hawaii?
Hawaii is widely regarded as a land of vacation and relaxation, and as such, its scenic roads and routes are far better known than the state’s freeways. But, as with all...
P0291OBD-II Trouble Code: Cylinder 11 Injector Circuit Low
P0291 code definition When your vehicle’s PCM registers the P0291 code, it means that a voltage reading came from the fuel injector circuit – for cylinder number 11’s fuel injector –...


Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...