Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-102681-tzyy83js:173:8

How to Register a Car in Connecticut

Registration Connecticut

All vehicles must be registered through Connecticut’s Department of Motor Vehicles. If you have just moved to the state, you have 60 days to register your vehicle. However, before the vehicle can be registered, you will need your VIN verified and emissions tested. Once these are completed, you are ready to register your vehicle.

New resident registration

If you are a new resident and wish to register your vehicle, you must provide the following:

  • Registration certificate or title from out-of-state
  • Emissions report and VIN verification
  • Connecticut auto insurance proof
  • Identification, such as a driver’s license, ID card, or military ID

Connecticut requires drivers to meet certain requirements before registering their vehicles. You will not be able to register your car if:

  • The vehicle does not comply with emission standards
  • You have unpaid parking tickets
  • You owe property taxes
  • Vehicle registration privilege has been suspended

Before registering a new or used vehicle, it has to go through an emissions test or a VIN verification (if the vehicle is exempt from emissions testing). Once these are complete, you can register your vehicle at the DMV office.

Registering your vehicle

To register the vehicle you must provide the following:

  • Application for registration and certification title
  • Current registration certificate and certificate of title if registering a used vehicle
  • Bill of sale
  • Current Connecticut insurance card
  • Identification, such as driver’s license, learner’s permit, or ID card
  • Pay registration fees

If you purchase a vehicle from a private seller, you need to transfer the title and register the car in your name before driving it. In addition, if the previous owner did not have an emissions test or the car registered for a while, you should apply for a temporary registration and have the vehicle inspected so it can be fully registered.

There are fees associated with registering a vehicle in Connecticut, which depend on the type of vehicle you own.

Registration and additional fees

The following are registration fees for vehicles in Connecticut:

  • Commercial vehicles depend on weight but start at $47 for one year
  • Passenger vehicles are $80 for two years
  • Motorcycles cost $42 for two years
  • Trailers are $19 for two years
  • Snowmobiles are $20 for two years
  • Electric vehicles are $38 for two years

Some additional fees include:

  • Federal Clean Air Act is $10
  • Greenhouse Gas Reduction is $5
  • Late fee is $10

Military

Military members stationed outside of Connecticut can register vehicles by mail. To do this you will need:

  • Current U.S. military ID card
  • Current auto insurance ID card
  • Application for registration and certificate of title
  • A federal odometer statement, if the car was purchased from a dealer
  • Bill of sale
  • Application for waiver of registration fee - Active Service in U.S. Armed Forces
  • Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin for new vehicles
  • Out-of-state vehicle title for used vehicles
  • Out-of-state VIN verification

Send these to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Customized Services Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161

Vehicles may be registered in person at the local DMV or through the mail, depending on your circumstance. Late fees do apply if registration is not completed within the set timeframes.

If you have any more questions about this process, be sure to visit the Connecticut DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oklahoma(DELETED)
Having your car registered with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is an important part of driving legally in this state. You will need to do this within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma...
How to Find the Keyless Code on a Ford Explorer or Mercury Mountaineer
Many Ford Explorers and Mercury Mountaineers were manufactured with an option known as the Ford keyless entry keypad. Some models refer to it as SecuriCode as well. It...
How to Buy Fuel Treatments
Adding a fuel additive to your gas tank when you fill up is one way to clean vital engine parts of deposits, improve the performance of your engine,...


Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.