How to Register a Car in Delaware

All vehicles must be registered through the Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you have just moved to the state, you have 60 days to register your car. This needs to be done in person at the local DMV office. Before registering, you need to have proof of Delaware auto insurance and proof of passing a vehicle inspection. The vehicle can be registered for one or two years.

New residents registration

If you are a new resident and wish to register your vehicle you will need to provide the following:

  • Car insurance
  • Certificate of title application
  • Out-of-state car title
  • Delaware driver’s license
  • Registration fees

If you purchase your vehicle from a dealer, most of the time the dealer will submit the titling and registration paperwork for you. It is a good idea to confirm this with the dealer before leaving the dealership.

If you have purchased your vehicle from a private seller, you will have 30 days to register the vehicle from the time of purchase. The vehicle can be registered for one or two years.

Registering a vehicle bought from a private seller

To register your vehicle you will need to provide:

  • Proof of auto insurance
  • Delaware driver’s license
  • Signed over title
  • Registration fees

If the registration on an out-of-state vehicle has expired, you can buy a temporary tag that lasts five days. This will allow you to drive the vehicle to the inspection.

Purchasing a temporary tag

To purchase a temporary tag you need:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Bill of sale or title
  • VIN
  • Make, model, and year of vehicle
  • $20 fee

Military

Delaware military members who reside in the state may register their vehicle as outlined above. If you are stationed out-of-state and are located outside of a 250-mile radius of a DMV office, an Out-of-State Inspection Packet must be requested and filled out. The request may be sent to:

Division of Motor Vehicles
ATTN: Correspondence Section
P.O. Box 698
Dover, DE 19903

If you are a military member and not a resident of Delaware, you can drive with out-of-state license plates as long as the current registration is up to date. In addition, if you retire and stay in Delaware, you have 60 days to register your vehicle.

Registration fees

Fees for registrations include:

  • Per year registration fee is $40
  • Duplicate license plate with sticker is $10
  • Duplicate license plate without sticker is $5
  • Duplicate registration card is $10
  • Vehicle inspection is free

Vehicles that are being registered in Delaware must go through a safety test, as well as an emissions and smog check. Registering a vehicle in Delaware must be done in person unless you meet the requirements outlined above.

Visit the Delaware DMV website to find out more about what you can expect from this process.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Register a Car in Oklahoma
When When moving to a new area, there are a variety of things that you will have to handle to comply with local laws. One of the first things that you need to do when moving to Oklahoma is to...
How to Register a Car in Washington
The The process of moving can be a very stressful one. If you are in the process of moving to Washington, then you will need to make sure that you get your car or cars registered with the state. There...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Delaware
The The state of Delaware offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the past, or are current active military members. Vehicle registration benefits Delaware waives registration and...

Related questions

Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
vanagon looses speed uphill
Keeping up with the tune up and maintenance on any vehicle is paramount, when it comes to maintaining the performance on any vehicle. With that being said, you must also take into consideration that a 1991 Volkswagen Vanagon with a...
Worries about maintaining a german car rather than Japanese
Hello. I would say care cost of a European built vehicle versus an Asian built vehicle is about 20 - 30%. The Asian manufactured parts can be cheaper because they are generally more mass-produced but the European Parts can be...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com