Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Register a Car in Colorado

Colorado Registration

All vehicles must be registered through Colorado’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you have recently moved to Colorado, and have established residency, you have 90 days to register your vehicle. This must be done in person, at the DMV office in the county you live in. Residency is defined as:

  • Operating or owning a business in Colorado
  • Living in Colorado for 90 days
  • Working in Colorado

New residents registration

If you are a new resident and wish to register your vehicle, you required to provide the following:

  • VIN verification
  • Current registration certificate or title
  • Identification, such as driver’s license, passport, military ID
  • Proof of passing an emissions test, if applicable
  • Car insurance proof
  • Registration fees

For residents of Colorado, after you purchase a vehicle, it must be registered within 60 days. Depending on the age of your vehicle and the county you reside in, you may need a smog check. If you purchase a vehicle from a dealership, the dealer will handle the registration paperwork in most cases. It is best to confirm this when purchasing the car.

Registering vehicles purchased from private seller

If you purchased your vehicle from a private party and wish to register it, you need to provide the following:

  • VIN verification
  • Current registration or title
  • Identification, such as driver’s license, passport, military ID
  • Proof of passing an emissions test, if applicable
  • Proof of auto insurance
  • Registration fees

If you are a military member stationed in Colorado, you may keep your vehicle’s registration in your home state, or register your vehicle in Colorado. If you do register your vehicle, you need to comply with emission laws and requirements, but you do not have to pay the Specific Ownership Tax. To meet the standards for this waiver, you must bring the following to the DMV:

  • Copy of your orders
  • Military ID
  • Current Leave and Earnings Statement
  • Non-residence and Military Service Exemption from Specific Ownership Tax Affidavit

There are fees associated with registering a vehicle in Colorado. Sales and ownership taxes are added on as well. All of the fees vary by county. The three types of fees are:

  • Ownership tax: Personal property tax based on the value of your vehicle when it was brand new

  • Sales tax: Based on your car’s net purchase price

  • License fee: Based on the weight of your vehicle, purchase date, and the taxable value

Smog checks and emissions tests

Some counties require smog checks and emissions tests. These should be done before registering your vehicle.

The following counties require smog checks:

  • Jefferson
  • Douglas
  • Denver
  • Broomfield
  • Boulder

The following counties require emissions tests:

  • Weld
  • Larimer
  • El Paso
  • Arapahoe
  • Adams

Be sure to check local guidelines when it comes to smog and emissions checks. Furthermore, you can find exact registration fees at your local county’s DMV. Visit the Colorado DMV website to find out more about what you can expect from this process.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

How Long Does a Throttle Return Spring Last?
Not all vehicles on the road feature an electronic throttle control (ETC), which is also called drive-by-wire. For vehicles that don't offer this system, they have a throttle cable instead that...
P0121 OBD-II Trouble Code: TPS "A" Circuit Range Performance Problem
P0121 code definition Throttle Pedal Position Sensor/Switch (TPS) A Circuit Range Performance Problem What the P0121 code means P0121 is a generic OBD-II code which indicates that the Engine Control...
P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...


Related questions

Q: 2wd truck. Rear wheels "grabbing" when making tight turns.

Your truck has a limited slip differential and in most cases this is normal operation when making tight turns. If the turns you began to notice the grabbing are turns you have taken many times before, then it may be...

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

Q: Buying tips 2007 Chevrolet Colorado

Hello - "powertrain" usually means engine and transmission, and sometimes includes the driveshaft, differential and axles. I would ask for receipts as well as clarification from the seller. Whether the vehicle is worth any specific amount (as rated by Blue...