Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Renew Your Car Registration in New Mexico

New Mexico Registration Renewal

Making sure that your vehicle is legal to drive in your home state of New Mexico should be a priority. There are a number of fines that you will have to face if you do not have the car registered with the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division. You will need to make sure that you renew this registration every year to avoid any problems. The MVD will mail you a notice 65 days before your registration is due. Once you receive it, you will need to take the steps to get it renewed. The following are some of the ways that you will be able to handle this process.

Going online

If you want to handle the renewal online, then you need to go to the Online Vehicle Registration Renewal page. Once there, you will need the following information:

  • The control number that can be found on the notice that you have received.
  • The VIN on the car that you drive
  • The year model of the vehicle and your name
  • The payment needed to satisfy the fees that you owe

Using the phone to renew

If you want to handle the renewal process on the phone, you will need to follow these steps:

  • Call 888-683-4636
  • Enter in your license plate number
  • Put in your credit or debit card information to pay the fees you owe

Handle the renewal in person or by mail

For some, handling this process either by mail or in person is ideal. In order to do this, you will need to follow these steps:

  • Take in or mail your registration notice
  • Pay the fees that you owe

If you are using the mail in option, then you will need to address the envelope to the following address:

Registration Renewal Section
Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 25129
Santa Fe, NM 87504-5129

The renewal fees

The fees that you will pay will vary depending on how long you want to renew it and where you live in the state of New Mexico. Be sure to take the time to call the local DMV to figure out what you need to do.

The emissions testing

You will need to have an emissions test performed on your vehicle every two years. The notice that you will receive in the mail will usually explain what you need to do. Go to the New Mexico DMV website for more information.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oklahoma(DELETED)
Having your car registered with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is an important part of driving legally in this state. You will need to do this within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma...
P0222 OBD-II Trouble Code: Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input
P0222 code definition Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input What the P0222 code means The manufacturer specifies a range of acceptable voltage to be produced from the throttle position...
Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...


Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...