How to Register a Car in South Carolina

The state of South Carolina is a great place that is filled with history and a number of attractions. Due to the appeal that this state has, there are many people each year who move there. If you are one of the people making the move to South Carolina, you need to make sure that you register your vehicle. You will need to make sure that this process is done no later than 45 days after you move to avoid a late fee. Getting the registration for your vehicle means that you will have to go in person to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. When going to the DMV, here are the things that you will need to take with you:

  • A completed copy of the Application for Certificate of Title and Registration
  • The name of your auto insurance company
  • The receipt showing you have paid the tax on the vehicle
  • The payment for your fees

The best part about buying a car from a dealership is that they will actually handle the registration for you. The only thing that you will need to do is to make sure you get all of the paperwork so you can easily get a license plate for the vehicle.

If you are buying the car from a private seller, then you will have to go in person to the DMV to get it registered. Before you go, you will have to get these items to ensure that the registration process goes smoothly:

  • A completed copy of the Application for Certificate Title/Registration
  • Proof that you have insurance on the car
  • The paid receipt for the taxes on the car
  • Payment for the registration fees

There will be fees that have to be paid before you are able to get your registration. Here are some of the fees that you may have to pay during this process:

  • A passenger vehicle will cost $24 to register
  • If the car owner is 64 years old the registration will cost $22
  • If the vehicle owner is 65 years old or older the registration will cost $20
  • Motorcycles cost $10 to register
  • RVs will cost $24 to register

In order to get your vehicle approved for being registered, you will have to have a safety and vehicle emissions test. You can find out more information on this process by going to the South Carolina DMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Register a Car in Texas
There There are a number of benefits that come with moving to Texas. When you first arrive in the Lonestar state, you will need to take the time to ensure that you are on the right side of the law....
How to Register a Car in Virginia
There There are so many different things that have to be handled when moving to Virginia. Making sure that you take the steps needed to get a car registered in this state should be at the top of your list...
How to Register a Car in Wyoming
In In order for a person to get back and forth to their job, they will need a car. If you are making a move to Wyoming, then you will need to do everything you can to ensure your car...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com