Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Maine

registration Maine

Driving a car comes with a lot of responsibility. You need to make sure that the car you are driving is legal under the laws of Maine. The state of Maine will require you to register any car that you buy with the Maine Bureau of Vehicles. Every year you will need to make concessions to get this registration renewed. You will be able to get a friendly reminder that the renewal is due from the state of Maine. This will help you to keep up with things without having to worry about paying late fees. Here are some of the ways that you will be able to handle this renewal process.

Getting it done online

Among the most popular ways that a person can handle this renewal is by going online. In order to be able to do this, you will need to check to see if the county you live in is on the list of participating municipalities. You will find this list on the ME Rapid Renewal online system. Here is what you will need to do if your area is on the list:

  • Click the renew vehicle button
  • Choose your area from the list
  • You will need to enter your name and the registration number that you have
  • Make a payment to cover the fees that you owe

Getting the renewal done in person

Another great way to get this process handled is by going to the BMV office in your area in person. Once at the BMV office, you will need to have the following items:

  • Proof that you have insurance on the car
  • The excise tax information
  • The white and yellow copy that come with a registration application
  • Pay the fees that you owe

The fees associated with registration renewal

You will have to pay fees in order to get your registration renewed. Here are a list of the fees that you may have to pay:

  • Passenger vehicles will cost $35 to renew
  • A customized vehicle will be $25 to renew
  • An antique car will cost $30 to renew
  • A motorcycle will cost $21 to renew

Go to the Maine DMV website to get more information on how this process works.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.


Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.


More related articles

Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Idaho
The state of Idaho offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the...
P2159 OBD-II Trouble Code: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2159 P2159 code definition Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance Related Trouble Codes: P2158: Vehicle Speed Sensor B P2160: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Circuit Low P2161:...

Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...