Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls
  1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. How to Register a Car in Montana

How to Register a Car in Montana

Registration Montana

Moving to Montana can be a great way for you to get a new start. There are a number of things that you will have to handle when first getting settled into Montana. Getting your car registered is a must if you want to operate a motor vehicle on the Montana roadways. If you do not get your car registered within 60 days of moving to the state, then you may have to pay a very steep fine. In order to register your car, you will have to go in person to the county treasurer’s office in your care. The following are some of the things that you will need when going in to register your car:

  • A completed vehicle registration application
  • Proof of insurance
  • The car’s title
  • A registration certificate from your former state

If you are a resident of Montana and have purchased a car from a dealership, then you will be able to have them do all of the work need to get the vehicle registered. Make sure that you receive copies of the paperwork to ensure that you are able to get the tag for the vehicle.

When purchasing a car from an individual, you will have to do all of the work involved in getting the vehicle registered. Before you go in to the treasurer’s office to register the vehicle, here are some of the things you will need to gather:

  • A completed vehicle registration application
  • Auto insurance card
  • The car’s title with your name on it
  • The odometer reading on the car
  • Titling and license plate fees

When going to get your registration handled, you will have to pay fees. The fees that you will have to pay are as follows:

  • Vehicles that are only four years old and under will cost $217 to register
  • For vehicles that are five to ten years old the registration fee is $87
  • Vehicles that are 11 years old and older will cost $28 to register

You will need to make sure that you have an adequate car insurance policy to show the treasurer’s office before getting your registration. For more information on the car registration process in this state, visit the Montana DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

P0052 OBD-II Trouble Code: HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1)
P0052 code definition HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1) What the...
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....


Related questions

Q: I had a shop from http://BMWmechanicBoca.Com tell me that I may need a battery registered for my BMW

Hello, thank you for writing in. Typically when you are prompted to register a new part or accessory, you are doing so for the warranty. This is a process of contacting the company and letting them know that you have...

Q: Engine misfiring in a 2002 Pontiac Montana

A misfire could be caused by number of problems but since you are getting the p0204 and p0203 I believe that is is probably an injector that is causing the misfire. I would replace the injector for the number 3...

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...