How to Register a Car in Ohio

Are you new to the state of Ohio? If you answered yes, then you will need to take the time to make sure you get your car registered. In order to drive on the Ohio roadways legally, you have to register your vehicle with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. There are a number of steps that you will have to take in order to obtain this registration. Taking the time to figure out what needs to be done to get the paperwork you need will be well worth it. Here is what you will have to do when trying to get your car registered with the state of Ohio. You need:

  • To obtain an Ohio title
  • Proof of insurance
  • A valid Ohio driver’s license
  • To have the results from your emissions test
  • Be sure to get the vehicle identification number as well

If you are a resident of Ohio and have bought a vehicle from either a car lot or private seller, then you will need to make concessions to get the car registered. In order to make this happen, you will need a variety of different documents. You need:

  • To present proof of ownership
  • A copy of your driver’s licenses
  • The lien holder information if you are still paying on the vehicle
  • To present your inspection documents
  • To show your certificate that states you have passed emissions testing with the car

You will have to pay all fees that are associated with this process. The following are some of the fees that you will have to pay during this process.

  • The plate fee - $4.50
  • If you are replacing a license plate - $10.50
  • Temporary registration - $18.50
  • Out of state inspection - $3.50

In order to get approved for getting your registration, you will need to pass an emissions test and an inspection. If you have any lingering questions about this process, go to the Ohio DMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Register a Car in Washington
The The process of moving can be a very stressful one. If you are in the process of moving to Washington, then you will need to make sure that you get your car or cars registered with the state. There...
How to Register a Car in Wisconsin
Driving Driving a car is something that most people take for granted. When moving to a new state, like Wisconsin, you will need to check to make sure you are complying with all of their laws. Having your car registered...
How to Register a Car in Wyoming
In In order for a person to get back and forth to their job, they will need a car. If you are making a move to Wyoming, then you will need to do everything you can to ensure your car...

Related questions

No power when accelerating
Hello! I believe the problem is likely to do with the mass air flow sensor (https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/symptoms-of-a-bad-or-failing-mass-airflow-sensor). When this sensor is at fault it will be sending a regular error inlet reading which will cause computer to incorrectly apply air fuel...
Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
Transmission slack
This is often a sign of low transmission fluid (https://www.yourmechanic.com/services/transmission-fluid-service) or a faulty transmission control solenoid. As you know, automatic transmissions use pressurized hydraulic fluid to change gears. Every time a gear change is required, the car's computer activates a...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com