How to Renew Your Car Registration in North Carolina

Moving to North Carolina can be a great experience. When first moving to the state, you will need to make sure that your car is registered with the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles(DMV). This will allow you to drive on the roadways without having to worry about getting ticketed. Once every year, you will have to make sure you get the registration renewed. The North Carolina DMV will send out a notice when the renewal is due. Here is what you will need to do once you have received your registration renewal notice:

Using the internet to renew

For most people, it is more convenient to go online to handle paying their bills. You will be able to take care of your registration renewal online by doing the following:

  • Go to the North Carolina DMV website
  • Put in your license plate number
  • Have the last five digits of your VIN
  • Pay the fees that you owe

Handle the renewal in person

Another great way to take care of renewing your registration is by going to the DMV in person. Here is what you will need to do in order to renew in person:

  • Take in the renewal notice you received in the mail
  • Provide proof of insurance on the vehicle
  • Pay the fees needed to renew the registration

North Carolina registration renewal fees

Here is a list of fees you will have to pay to renew your registration:

  • Passenger vehicles are $36 to renew
  • Trucks that are under 4,000 lbs. are $36 to renew
  • Trucks that are under 5,000 lbs. are $56.50 to renew
  • Trucks that are under 6,000 lbs. are $67 to renew

Testing your vehicle

Your car must pass a safety inspection for the registration to be approved for renewal. The safety inspection will cost $13.50 and emissions testing costs $30. Be sure to visit the North Carolina DMV website for more information.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Register a Car in West Virginia
Getting Getting a car registered is an important part of staying in compliance with state laws. If you are new to West Virginia, you will need to make sure that registering your vehicle with the DMV is at the top...
How to Renew Your Car Registration in Wyoming
The The state of Wyoming requires that all vehicles be registered once per year. Failure to do so means that your car will not be legal to drive on the roads. Proceeds from the renewal fees go to maintaining the...
How to Renew Your Car Registration in All States
In the United States, it is illegal to drive an unregistered vehicle out in public. Be sure you know the car registration laws in your state.

Related questions

Mustang squeaking and squealing
Hi there. If the noise is occurring when operating the clutch, then it may be in the clutch itself. If there is slipping, then the clutch itself is bad. If the noise only occurs when pressing in the clutch, then...
Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
Sluggish acceleration while in 2nd gear.
This could be traditional "turbo lag" - I would check the turbocharger boost control components for air leaks, or poor electrical connections. I would also check the throttle position sensor, which may not always be recognizing your foot pressing the...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com