Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Delaware

registration Delaware

Being able to drive on the Delaware roadways is a privilege that citizens have. In order to pay for the upkeep on these roads, you will have to pay to have your car registered with the Delaware DMV. Each year, this registration will have to be renewed in order for you to drive legally on the roadways. In order to get a notice, you will have to register online at the Delaware DMV website. This will allow you to get a reminder when the registration is due, which will eliminate the risk of you not paying it. Here is some more information that you will need to know when trying to renew your registration.

Renewing the registration by mail

One of the first options that you have when it comes to renewing your registration is doing it by mail. Here is what you will need to do in order to take advantage of this option.

  • The vehicle in question must be at least four years old or newer
  • It has to weigh less than 10,000 lbs.
  • It must not require a car inspection
  • Follow the instructions that have been sent by the DMV via email

Handling the registration in person

If you would prefer to handle the registration process in person, you will need to go to the DMV nearest where you live. Here is what you will need to bring with you.

  • A proof of Delaware car insurance
  • Proof that you have passed the vehicle inspection
  • The odometer from the car
  • A valid Delaware driver’s license
  • Your current registration
  • The payment for your fees

The fees that you will pay

When going in to get your registration renewed, you will have to pay fees. Here is what you can expect to pay.

  • Passenger vehicles will cost $40 to renew
  • Commercial vehicles will cost you $40 to renew

If you have any other concerns about this process, be sure to go to the Delaware DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Idaho
The state of Idaho offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the...
P2159 OBD-II Trouble Code: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2159 P2159 code definition Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance Related Trouble Codes: P2158: Vehicle Speed Sensor B P2160: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Circuit Low P2161:...
P2422 OBD-II Trouble Code: Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Valve Stuck Closed
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2422 P2422 code definition Evaporative Emissions Control System (EVAP) Vent Valve Stuck Closed Related Trouble Codes: P2441: EVAP Vent Valve Stuck Open EVAP trouble...


Related questions

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...